Oh, hi

You thought I had forgotten about you?

Nope. Not even close.

I had some domain drama. Basically, I forgot to renew it, it expired. Panic.

But I’m back. And with a new theme! Always choosing new themes.

Before that, I had a whole post written about being fat (duh) but WordPress deleted it when it found out I wasn’t actually still registered.

But then Brooke: Not on a Diet posted basically what I wanted to say.

The gist: even though you’ve probably been treated shitty in social situations because you were fat, don’t let that stop you from being open to people.

I run into people that I had known in college and high school a fair amount that I had been scared to talk to for one reason or another, usually because I thought they didn’t want to talk to me. And I thought they didn’t want to talk to me because I thought I wasn’t good enough to talk to because I was fat. Now when I run into people, I have a lot more confidence, and conversations go great, and I feel silly for ever being so scared.

Anxiety is a constant force in my life. I’m a lot better at recognizing it now that I’m not managing it with chocolate. Deep breaths and flattering selfies go a long way.

I’ve had a crazy two weeks. My friend, the jungle keeper, Paul Rosolie, wrote an awesome book about the Peruvian Amazon Rainforest (Go buy it!) that’s getting some serious press so I’ve been in and out of New York City to support him. My best friend is getting married in a month and I planned a bachelorette party for her last weekend, so there was the drinking and the recovering from drinking for that.

But I wanted to pop in and at least say Hi and let you know that if you’re in a place, where you are swimming in the fantasy of being thin, and you think you can’t make friends, be in a relationship, travel, get a new job, or whatever, because you’re a certain size, weight, shape, get over it, get with the fear, and go do the thing you’ve been waiting to do. Talk to whoever you want to talk to. And be insistent in your greatness.

 

One thought on “Oh, hi

Leave a Reply

