Begrudgingly Grateful

Just wanted to stop in for a quick hello 🙂

I didn’t blog at all last week. I didn’t have anything to say.

Truthfully, putting out all that truthfulness left me drained.

Usually when I write here, there’s some kind of spark and then the words just flow, effortlessly. But, alas, nothing in my life has felt effortless as of late.

Remember when I used to post bits of gratitude?

Let’s do that again:

I am grateful for my fan. The heat is on (!) in New Jersey. I don’t have AC, but I do have a lovely little fan that lulls me to sleep at night.

I’m grateful for mini watermelons, aka, a single girl’s summery best friend.

I am grateful for yoga. I bought Groupons to two different studios about a month ago and have fallen in love with the classes and teachers at Verona Yoga. I’m going to be a sad, stiff lady when they come to and end. I look forward to the hour that I get to spend bending and twisting with intention. Also, the language choices of  yogis makes me strangely giddy.  Instead of just telling us to “smile” during some of the more balance-dependent poses, the teacher soothingly advises us to “let the corners of your mouth turn upward.” Swoon.

I am grateful for all the kindness that’s come my way. From strangers, friends, and family. In everything from reaction to this blog to the return of a smile.

I am grateful for my body’s amazing capacity to be resilient. Seriously, bodies are the coolest.

I am grateful for iced coffee, helping me be a kinder person one delicious sip and a time.

I’m grateful for those gently reminding me to be grateful. It’s a hard, but necessary daily practice and the absolute best predictor of happiness.

I am grateful for my roommate letting me take up way more than half the fridge space.

 I am grateful to have been given space in the Universe to be.

Very little grows on jagged rock. Be ground. Be crumbled, so wildflowers will come up where you are.

-Rumi

 

2 thoughts on “Begrudgingly Grateful

  1. Love that quote!! I read something this morning that I really liked…”The reason you’re so hard on yourself is because you’re so easy on yourself.” It really spoke to me about the importance of self care.

Leave a Reply

