Love and weight loss

Every day I read a collection of blogs (RIP Google Reader) that fuel me in different ways.

Some are focused on weight loss.

Some are food blogs with pages and pages of delicious recipe inspiration.

Some are exercise blogs that get me motivated for the gym.

And some are loving blogs written by life coaches. The language is soft and peaceful. They encourage things like cracking yourself open to let light in, following your delicious desires and living authentically and paying attention to your needs through self care.

It’s language that strengthens the journey inward – a welcomed and restorative break from the other chatter on the internet.

Every week Mara Glatzel at Medicial Marzipan puts together a link list that I absolutely love.

This week she pointed to a video post by another inspiring woman, Anna Guest-Jelley, creator of Curvy Yoga.

In her video, Anna tackles the question: “Can you accept your body and want to lose weight?”

It’s the question I’ve struggled with for years.

How do I come out of this weight loss journey with some semblance of self acceptance in tact?

In her wisdom, instead of answering the question in her words, she encourages her audience to turn the question inward.

Can I accept my body and want to lose weight?

Yes.

I’ve done it so far although it hasn’t been easy.

It means that maybe my journey takes a little bit longer.

It means that I don’t set any deadlines in my journey.

It means that I honor every little piece of what goes into creating weight loss as a loving act of self care.

It means I accept myself along the way, the weight gains, weight stalls, binge eating, and so on.

It means sometimes I take breaks from the scale, not weighing myself for weeks, to just smile at myself in the mirror and remember my body is powerful and perfect. Right now.

It means that I say out loud, as often as is necessary, that I look good and feel good now. I don’t wait for a number to tell me that I feel good about myself.

It means that I don’t engage in competition or comparison that may threaten the peaceful path that I’m on.

It means that my voice remains the loudest when faced with opposition.

There you have it. This is how I accept myself and lose weight.

I’ve said it before, and it always needs to be said again, weight loss is not for everyone. The more important thing always and forever will be love.

Happy, peaceful Monday 🙂

9 thoughts on “Love and weight loss

  1. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I will return once again since I bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue
    to guide other people.

  2. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

Leave a Reply

