Healthy Living Survey

Friiiiidaaaay!!! WOOHOOO!

Remember back in like, 1995, when you would spend hours answering survey questions and then email it around to all of your friends? This healthy living survey that I saw making the blog rounds reminded me of that and I couldn’t resist. Blame it on early internet nostalgia haha.

Ok…Here we go!

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

A mess of things that I’m calling a superfoods power bowl! I’m obsessed. In the bowl is:

  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp of chia seeds
  • 1/2 oz of raw cacao nibs
  • 1 cup of frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 tsp of stevia

Mix all the ingredients together and put in the fridge overnight to enjoy cold in the morning! This bowl is packed with fat, fiber and fun and covers most cool food trends. WIN.

2. How much water do you drink a day?

Are we counting tea? Ok here it goes – I have a glass at breakfast, and then try to fill up (and drink!) my 24 oz water bottle three times at work…plus a few giant mugs of hot tea. Then another glass of water with dinner and usually more hot tea. That adds up to…around 90 oz a day!? Wow.

I’m terrible at keeping up with my water intake on the weekend without my water bottle. It’s all about coffee come Saturday and Sunday.

3. What is your current favorite workout?

Walking! I was enjoying weights at the gym…and then fell out of the habit again. I’m hoping to start running soon. Yay for warm weather!

4. How many calories do you eat a day?

Right now I aim to stay between 1200-1400 calories a day depending on my activity level. I want to stress, however, that I never, ever, EVER deny myself food if I’m hungry. Listen to your body, folks!

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

I’m honestly not much of a snacker. I plan out my meals and rarely deviate. On days that I am feeling a little munchy I go for baby carrots and fruit, glasses of almond milk, Greek yogurt, and nuts. Borrrring.

Spring in NYC

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

It used to be a fun salad every day but lately I’ve been switching it up and enjoying a HUGE salad for dinner and a more dinner-type meal for lunch. My current favorite lunches are anything made in the crock pot. I’m on my like, second month, of eating salsa chicken (chicken, salsa, frozen vegetables in the crock pot – DONE). It’s so easy and so delicious and packs in protein and vegetables.  Can’t go wrong.

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?

Legs? I don’t really enjoy strength training. I like doing squats and lunges when I’m feeling motivated but that’s about it.

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

I like how I feel after I work my arms, but I don’t really enjoy it. I hate doing core work and that’s where I’m weakest. Go figure.

9. What are your ‘bad’ food cravings?

I don’t have any foods that I really look at as ‘bad’, but I’ve been (mostly) sugar free for a while and when I deviate and I really feel the negative effects. No bueno. That being said…when I do go out for FroYo (my one true love) it’s go big or go home. Giant bowls topped with m&ms, oreos, chocolate chips…resisting the urge to go get some right now.

I also get cravings for giant Chipotle burritos – when those hit I usually just make a healthier version.

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?

YUP! I swear by vitamins. I’m consistent with a multi-vitamin every day and I seriously believe it has super powers. I’m also currently taking Vitamin D3, probiotics, and magnesium in the form of Natural Calm.

I don’t know if you remember me complaining about getting awful Charley horses when I used to run, but I’m really prone to dehydration and get cluster headaches and muscle spasms because of it. After trying everything – upping my iron, potassium  Vitamin C, stretching, wearing compression sleeves, etc. –  Natural Calm was the only thing that worked. And it’s delicious.

photo 1

11. How often do you eat out?

Never. I wish that wasn’t the truth, but it is – just ask my angry friends who I repeatedly turn down invitations from haha.

My ban on eating out started from financial necessity and then it became a health necessity. I also love cooking and am meticulous about meal planning every week so if I ate out I would be wasting the food I use my hard-earned money to buy.

Man, I am sounding less and less fun by the question.

The more truthful answer to this question is… maybeeee twice a month – and it’s always either lunch at Whole Foods or FroYo. Those are my absolute non-guilty pleasures.

12. Do you eat fast food?

Nope! I spent years binge eating from the drive-through at Wendys and McDonalds and so now fast food is a huge trigger of emotional eating for me. I try to avoid it at all costs, not because I think the health effects are such that you should never eat there, but I fear going back to fast food would make me feel out of control.

13. Who is your biggest supporter?

My sister. She’s the one person I can call who I know won’t get sick of me talking about food, she motivated me to start running and always believes I can accomplish my goals. She continuously pushes me forward when I’m frustrated.

14. Do you have a gym membership?

I belong to Retro Fitness and happen to think it’s pretty great.

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

I aim for 7-9 hours and am pretty good about getting it. Sleep is hugely important for me because I am waaaay more likely to overeat/binge if I’m sleep deprived.

photo 2

16. Do you have a cheat day?

Never. I hate that mentality. Every day I wake up with my game face on and with the best intentions to do what I know will make me feel good and happy. Whatever happens from there, happens.

17. Do you drink alcohol?

Yes!…and no. This is my absolute weakest spot when it comes to moderation. If I drink…I DRINK. Three gin and tonics? Sure. Five glasses of wine? Sounds about right.

So, yeah, I try to abstain because well, calories, but man do I love wine. And gin. And then wine again.

18. Do you have a workout buddy?

I really enjoy working out alone. My best motivator is the voice in my head and I look at exercising as my time to reflect and unwind.

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a Healthy Lifestyle?

This is a hard question to answer! So much has changed, but I think the biggest has been gaining self confidence and love and never (eh..rarely, re: wine) going to sleep with regret. I live every day the way I want to.

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

On Wednesday and Thursday after work I walked 2.5 miles to the PATH station on 14th Street instead of the one 10 minutes from my building. I knew it would be one of the last times I would be able to do it since I start a new job in New Jersey in April and I’m so glad the weather cooperated. While I hated commuting to NYC, I loved walking around the city once I was there.

photo 5

 

 

9 thoughts on “Healthy Living Survey

  1. I suppose my least favorite part of strength training is either my triceps (because I never see a change) or my back (because I’m freaked out about doing something wonky and having back issues!!!).

  2. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Thank you

Leave a Reply

