DIY Blue Print Cleanse

Hi – settle in, I’ve got a long post!

I’m writing this at noon on Saturday because I want to get all my observations down.

I decided to do a modified Blue Print Cleanse this weekend! Here’s the background:

I began researching last week by asking all my friends about cleanses they had done, some mentioned the Master Cleanse, others the GM Diet Cleanse, and then there was the Blue Print Cleanse. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a very popular juice cleanse. So popular that the company even sells the juices in Whole Foods. You can also order 3 days worth for around $300 from the website.

The price tag was something I couldn’t afford, but thanks to my (blog!) friend Julie (she has an awesome video review of the cleanse), I was able to find the recipes and do it myself.

I ran out Friday night and bought a Ninja Professional blender and a cheese cloth to make the juice. So far, so good.

Here’s a few things you should know:

1. I’m following the level 3 excavation Blue Print Cleanse

2. I didn’t do the “ease in” to the cleanse – basically where you back off from all the meat and processed junk you eat. I decided to do the cleanse late Friday night and, well, that’s just how I am. If you read this blog, you already know I eat a clean diet 99% of the time, so I wasn’t too worried about the effects of not easing into the cleanse. That being said, I’m writing this in the first half of my first day…so we’ll see.

3. I’m only juicing for 2 days. Honestly, if by the end of tomorrow I’m loving it and think I can handle another day, I’ll buy the juices at Whole Foods and drink at work, but right now three days of juice just isn’t practical for me.

4. Two things I can’t really talk about: Cost and weight. Cost, because I didn’t buy everything organic, and used a few things I had in the apartment already. Believe me though, making the juices yourself is cheaper. Weight, because I didn’t weigh myself before starting. I had eaten a ton of chocolate (explained below) the night before I started, and there was just no point in weighing myself in the morning. Cleanses are not meant to keep weight off, so I just saw no point in marking down weight loss just from the cleanse. OK? 🙂

What prompted this? I wanted to do this for a couple of reasons. Another list? Yes please.

1. I’ve never done one and everyone and their mother has a “cleanse” tale to tell. Silly reason, but it’s seriously why I wanted to try it.

2. I love, love, love my green smoothies and was looking for an excuse to upgrade from the Magic Bullet to the Ninja. Best $100 ever spent (technically $85 with a 20% coupon from Bed Bath and Beyond!!)

Buying the Ninja

3. I made my friends some very chocolate-y granola last week and ate a lot of said chocolate. I was feeling gross after consuming so much sugar.

Details. The Blue Print Cleanse excavation path is the most “extreme” of their cleanses, in that it includes the most Green juice. You drink six juices a day. Juices 1, 2, 3, and 5 are green juices with Juice 2 including ginger. Juice 4 is a spicy lemonade and Juice 6 is a cashew nut milk.

For two days, that’s 16 green apples, 8 cucumbers, 40 celery ribs, 2 heads of romaine lettuce, 3 bunches of kale, a bunch of parsley, and 2-1/2 cups of raw cashews. 

Vegetables

I followed the recipes as exact as I could. Here are my confessions: I used lemon juice from a bottle and ginger from a jar. I didn’t use organic apples or cucumbers, but everything else was organic. I know you’re only supposed to drink herbal tea and water other than juice, but this girl needs her caffeine so I also sipped on some green tea. That was the best I could do for right now, and we all know, “don’t let perfect be the enemy of good.”

Let me just say, I know I like my green monsters, but I was actually expecting to hate the green juice because I don’t like celery. It was freaking delicious. Like, I’m going to make it all the time off the cleanse. THAT good. Just like a green monster, it made me feel bright and bubbly to be downing so many vegetables and the green apples added the perfect amount of tart sweetness. It was pure perfection.

My energy levels are pretty high, but that could be the effects of consuming a pound of chocolate the night before. I also had a headache from all the sugar when I woke up in the morning but it’s completely gone now. Yay green juice!

I’ll check in again later!

—-

Ugh. I had so much enthusiasm going into Day 2 of the Blue Print Cleanse but my electric company felt differently. I woke up at 3 a.m. realizing my apartment complex had lost power. A transformer blew around midnight and knocked out the power until 3:30 p.m. on Sunday.

Determined to stay the course, I bought my first juice of the day at Whole Foods. It cost $9!! The cashew nut milk cost $11!!! I was planning to buy the juices for Monday to continue the cleanse but I just can’t make it work with those prices.

Whole Foods juice

Anyway, after my first juice I occupied myself by driving around charging my cell phone and going to the library until hunger started to kick in. I decided to eat an apple because buying a another juice was not in my budget. When the power still hadn’t come back on at 2:30 p.m. I also munched on some raw cashews.

It sucks that the power went out and ruined the flow of my juice cleanse, but there was nothing I could have done about it. At 4 p.m. I finally got to make my first juice and just downed another at 5:30 p.m.

The only thing I’ve gotten sick of on the cleanse has been squeezing out the juice from the cheese cloth, but other than that I have no complaints. I didn’t feel any hunger on Day 1 – in fact, I never ended up drinking the spicy lemonade because I was too full – and I’m pretty confident that if all had gone according to plan, Day 2 would have been just as smooth.

While my first cleanse experience was kind of an (unavoidable) bust, I’m PUMPED to do another one soon! They are expensive but totally worth it. I felt great and light all day, no side effects, and the juice taste great. I gave my digestive system a 48 hour break and consumed a sh*t ton of produce in the process. Win-win!

In the blender

This has been long enough already and considering I didn’t really get the true experience, I’ll end the post. But – If you’re thinking of doing a cleanse I definitely recommend checking out Blue Print. The juices are delicious and if you have them delivered it couldn’t be easier to follow.

Have you done a juice or other type of cleanse? What was your experience?

27 thoughts on “DIY Blue Print Cleanse

  1. I have a non-cleanse-related question: How’s the Ninja?? How does it compare to the Magic Bullet? I’ve been considering buying a Magic Bullet… Glad you have your power back 🙂

    • Ok so.. The biggest difference is the magic bullet has 250 watts of power ad the ninja professional has 1000 watts of power. The magic bullet is great for every day smoothies with fruit and ice but it can’t handle apples, carrots, etc. The ninja is also bigger which means I can do soups and double batches. I love both.. They are about a $60 price difference.. So if you’re just going to be making single serving sauces or fruit smoothies go with the bullet… But the ninja is absolutely worth it. My mom has the vitamix and I’d say it does a pretty good job at matching up with the holy grail of blenders for a fraction of the cost.

      • The vitamix is my dream! Hmmm I’d like something that can handle crushing ice cubes too, so maybe saving up for the Ninja is the way to go.. Thanks Jodi!

  2. Awesome! I’m so bad at cleanses. I’ve tried them so many times but I always end up crashing at the end of the day and eating something. I just get such painful hunger throbs. Maybe I haven’t used the right fruits and veggies. I’d like to try again, maybe doing this cleanse. Is there a reason you press your juices through a cheese cloth as opposed to a juicer?

    Also, the Ninja is a million times better than the Magic Bullet. My family and I have owned at least 8 magic bullets. They usually stop working after a year of heavy use. Plus I now own the Ninja and it blends better than anything I’ve seen (even the good kitchenaid products). A friend of mine had the big pro version but I opted for the one that was like the bullet simply because I didn’t have the money for a pro. Knowing how well my friend’s pro worked, I did not expect the smaller version to be as good but now I can say I think it’s better. It’s shape makes it easy to double it has a food processor and it’s just as powerful in my opinion (it is less wattage though). It’s also larger enough to fit at least 6 or 8 cups I believe.

    • I thought about going with the other ninja with the processor but I didn’t feel that I would get as much use out of it… And at bed bath and beyond it was more expensive.

      I used the cheese cloth because I don’t have a juicer. While I did get sick of it (5 times a day) I thought the whole process was really cool.

      I’ve loved my magic bullet and would still recommend it.. I use it heavily and it’s held up great.. But the ninja is unbelievable

  3. Hey! I want to try out this cleanse but cant afford it either, so if you could PLEASE post the exact ingredients for each juice you made (the ones that didnt have everything organic) that would be really helpful!

  4. hey there! , I really like your crafting so a lot! proportion most people connect more approximately your post for Google? I needed an expert on this home to eliminate our trouble. Probably that is certainly a person! Getting excited about help you.

  5. Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then
    that, awesome blog!

    My site :: IT Outsourcing in NYC (Roseann)

  6. What i don’t realize is in reality how you’re not
    really much more neatly-appreciated than you may be now.

    You’re so intelligent. You know thus considerably in the case of this
    topic, produced me in my opinion consider it from a lot of numerous angles.
    Its like men and women are not interested unless
    it is one thing to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs excellent.
    Always care for it up!

  7. Howdy! This post could not be written much better! Looking through this
    post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept
    talking about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Pretty sure he’ll have a great read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  8. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure
    whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  9. [はい]、し、我々 は我々 のテレビでの 1 つまたはいくつかのより多くのチャンネルを見ることができる 無料。5 ポケット ジャン スリムな建設、綿 100 % を誇っていますと 必要はありません ニンジン形アンチ フィット を有する、
    通常 中央部。ハイジのウェブサイトには豊富なフォト アルバムが含まれています すべての 花嫁 は彼女が得た 得て する機会 ドレスします。によって充電されて 数日 あなたのレンタルのため そこ がない遅れている 料金。

  10. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this
    website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and great design.

    Feel free to surf to my page :: detoxing

  11. It’s awesome to pay a quick visit this web page and reading
    the views of all friends regarding this piece of writing, while I am also eager of getting experience.

  12. You wont find Adiphene in your native pharmacy or
    some huge store like Walmart or Walgreens.
    Safety is also assured when taking Adiphene
    because of its natural ingredients, which means that serious
    side effects are unlikely to happen if taken as
    directed. The science behind Adiphene consists of 12 of probably the most power
    fat preventing ingredients known.

    Here is my webpage – buy the linden method

  13. So why is being overweight such a direct link to diabetes.
    Safety is also assured when taking Adiphene because of its
    natural ingredients, which means that serious side effects are unlikely to happen if taken as directed.
    Adiphene Weight Loss Supplements Offers a Unique 25% Discount n select package fr Online B
    Worldwide If the online critiques are something to
    go by, Adiphene is an efficient weight-loss option.

    Feel free to surf to my weblog panic attack disorder

Leave a Reply

