Persistent vs. consistent

Sometimes, a word of truth just knocks you over.

That’s what happened to me on Wednesday.

I was feeling pretty low about my weight loss progress when I ran into my old trainer at the gym. While I don’t pay him to kick my butt anymore, he still checks in on me from time to time.

I was on my way into the locker room, done with my workout, when he asked how I was doing.

I started into my well-rehearsed spiel, “I’m not gaining, but I’m not losing…”

He stopped me right there.

“It’s because you’re not persistent,” he said.

I took a sharp breathe in. He was right.

I wanted to shout back, “but it’s hard!”

Instead, I realized, there’s the rub.

It is hard.

Source: etsy.com via Jodi on Pinterest

 

My trainer saw me through a year of steady weight loss and now he’s seen my daily gym visits become sporadic, he’s heard me complain about my commute into the city, my struggles with eating healthy all the time, and he called it as he saw it.

I wasn’t being persistent.

Consistent for sure, but not persistent.

Weight loss is hard. Anyone who tells you it isn’t is flat out lying. Weight loss means not eating out at restaurants, it’s turning down free food at work and passing on sweets during the holidays. It’s drinking water when everyone else is ordering beer, It’s going to the gym instead of sleeping in and it’s re-imagining your entire life around the goal of health.

 

Somewhere, I lost my acceptance that this would be hard. I wanted to lose weight and do all of those things, somehow cheat the system and that’s not how it works.

I thought,”Well, I’m consistently healthy, so what I do once in a while shouldn’t matter.”

Consistent, with a definition of “unchanging in achievement or effect over a period of time” just isn’t good enough.

Persistent, adjective

1. Continuing firmly or obstinately in a course of action in spite of difficulty or opposition.

When I stopped accepting that this was supposed to be hard, I gave up the fight, the persistence and steadfastness in accomplishing my goals.

There is no more pretending that this isn’t a battle. The good part, the upside in this, is that I already know the sacrifice and dedication is worth it.

Source: screenfunk.com via Jodi on Pinterest

 

Saying “no” to temptation is saying “yes” to a healthier future. Doing what’s best for me means I can be my best for my friends and family.

There’s a reason the diet industry makes so much money. Losing weight is a struggle.

My advice? Accept the struggle. Know what’s coming will knock you down, get ready to be uncomfortable, to do things you haven’t done before, and be dogged in going after what you want anyway.

“The best way out is always through,” – Robert Frost

 

8 thoughts on “Persistent vs. consistent

  1. Wow, this was exactly what I needed to hear this morning. I’ve been struggling for weeks and kept telling myself, “This shouldn’t be so hard.” But you know what — sometimes things are hard! Especially the best things, the stuff we really want. So thank you for this reminder that there is a difference btw being consistent (easy) and being persistent (so, so tough). Oh, and happy Friday 🙂

  2. I rarely comment but if you do not mind, I think your attitude is right. But you may want to push yourself harder. I mean harder through increase your intensity. I remember seeing that you mainly walk on treadmill. But try to run at faster speed. If you are comfortable, then your heart is not working as hard as you should be. Try to do HIIT run (20 minutes and run at a speed of 6:00mph or speed of 10) for 30 seconds and jog/walk for 60 seconds. But you do not want to be doing hours of cardio either. Try to keep your heart rate up.

    In your case, you are trying to lose weight. In my case, I am trying to build muscle. It is hard when I am trying to bench press more than my body weight as a girl. But just remember this: if it does not challenge you, it DOES NOT change you.

    Also, in terms of diet, try to cut your carb after lunch. I only eat carb for breakfast and lunch. After lunch, I will have a protein shake, and dinner will be just protein and veggie. You want to start with biggest meal at breakfast, and then less during lunch but will still keep you full until dinner.

  3. What a great and true post! It is hard to continue to make those die hard/super sacrificial decisions consistently over a long period of time. For me, once I was no longer morbidly obese and somewhat happy with where I was in my weight loss it became increasingly easier to say yes to the little temptations that I never would have in the past. It’s all mental & I’ve got my mind in the game now and it seems like you do too!

    • Yes! I had the same problem…after I lost a lot of weight I thought I knew how to do it and could just coast – totally wrong! It’s so nice to know others relate 🙂

  4. If there’s one thing I know about you, it’s that if you’ve made up your mind to be persistent then you’ll do it. Looking forward to celebrating with you since I know it’s just a matter of time. Thank goodness for new jobs and more time for yourself. 🙂

    Keep it up – your determination is motivation for everyone else (including me!). xo

    ps – can you tell this is my bi-monthly comment binge yet? haha

Leave a Reply

