Gratitude wins

You know the saying, “If you don’t have anything nice to say…”

Well, that’s kind of how I’m feeling.

I’m frustrated beyond belief about this weight-loss plateau.

That’s all I got. Frustration. I’m at a loss for words. I don’t understand what’s happening in my body that making it seemingly impossible for me to have sustainable, steady weight loss.

For now, I’m going to abide by the wise proverb, and keep my trap shut.

Except for some gratitude, there’s never too much of that, so here it goes:

When I really think about my life right now, how my body looks, feels, moves, I’m overcome with emotion. I was, in my own mind, always going to be obese. I know it’s no small feat to change a lifetime of unhealthy habits, and I’m eternally grateful to the Universe for helping me do so – for bringing in my life the right people at the time, for placing me in situations where my declining health was impossible to ignore, and for providing an infinite amount of support every single day while I learned how to become a vibrant, healthy person.

That’s it. That’s the message I want in my head today. Not frustration. Not anger. Love, gratitude, and knowing that I’ve already created for myself a healthy future that was unimaginable a few years ago.

Now…the numbers

Starting weight: 243
Last week:161.5
This week: 160.5
Total lost: 82.5

10 thoughts on “Gratitude wins

  1. Jodi, this is completely off topic, but I was wondering if you’d seen this on fat acceptance and weight loss. I read them and thought of your recent posts on your thoughts re: FA. I think you might relate quite a bit to the author of this blog.

    http://justmaintaining.com/2011/09/22/the-penultimate-post-how-do-i-reconcile-size-acceptance-and-weight-loss-maintenance/

    And plateaus are hard. I was stuck for months at one — the mental challenge is so tough. Sending you good vibes & thoughts.

    • Thank you! I’m going to check out the blog…I hadn’t heard of it before. The mental challenge is so incredibly tough. It’s nice to hear someone can relate.

      • Your perseverance is really admirable. Seriously. I got to the point where I changed my scale to weigh myself in kilos instead of pounds because I was convinced that somehow, that would make a difference. (?!) Weight loss doesn’t exactly encourage rational thinking all the time.
        Hang in there. It gets better & it’s totally worth the effort.

  2. Don’t let the plateau get you down! You have come so far and accomplished so much. And I can guarantee that your body is changing, even if the scale doesn’t seem to be. (Btw, one pound in a week is awesome!)

    I love your approach — you’re a huge inspiration to me to approach my own health from a place of love and gratitude, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

