President’s Day break

Hi!

I have a nice break from work for President’s Day, which means sleeping in, drinking coffee leisurely and spending as much time as I want at the gym.

It also means laundry and cleaning. booooo!

Because I didn’t have to get up so early today, I stayed up late last night messing around with the blog design. If you read the blog through email or your reader be sure to open it to the full version and let me know what you think of the new design. I felt like it was time for a change!

Fun fact: I love messing around on Photoshop and actually thought pretty seriously about pursuing graphic design in college, but the I got a “C” in the course I took and hated studying typography…so that ended that. I still use my knowledge to make some freaky photos of my friends and myself, like this Jodster Apple:

apple

Heh.

This weekend I also got to watching Hungry for Change. If you haven’t seen it, it’s pretty similar to Forks Over Knives  or Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. Basically, an entertaining look at why eating clean is important.

 

If you’re new to healthy eating, these documentaries can be a great start to a lifestyle change, or just an extra boost of motivation if you’re already far along in your journey.

My biggest takeaway from “Hungry” was toward the end when Dr. Christiane Northrup was talking about changing your mindset as the first step to losing weight – a topic I’m obviously passionate about.

She says if she could tell people to do one thing every day, it would be to repeat this phrase.

“I accept myself unconditionally right now”

I quickly scribbled it down on a post-it and stuck it to my mirror.

Repeat, repeat, repeat.

Have a great day!

 

8 thoughts on “President’s Day break

  1. Hungry for Change is one of the few food-related documentaries I haven’t seen! They are definitely my guilty pleasure. 😛 And I LOVE that quote from it. I’m going to do the same as you and write it on a sticky.

  2. Hey Jodi!

    So glad to see you are still kicking butt! I actually just wrote a post about some of those documentaries out there in regards to food guilt/shame; I do agree however, that they can be motivational. Looks like we are in pretty similar places with our weight right now so I look forward to continuing to follow your journey more closely!

Leave a Reply

