Life by Pinterest

Do you follow me on pinterest?

I’ve been super inspired lately and have truly, IMHO, made some genius food decisions this week.

First up – Chicken and winter squash stew (Crock pot)

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you already know I do not follow recipes, so here is what I came up with after pinning a few different squash stews for inspiration.

Serves 5. Inspired by Everyday Paleo and Eat Live Run

Everyday Paleo’s pork loin and butternut squash stew

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 2-3 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 20 oz cubed butternut squash
  • 20 oz cubed acorn squash
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • Cinnamon, stevia, salt

Directions:

Rough chop the onion and garlic cloves and layer on the bottom of the crock pot followed by the chicken thighs and chicken broth. On top, spread out all the squash and season with generous shakes of cinnamon and salt and two packets of Stevia.

Turn the crock pot to low and let it go for 7-9 hours. The crockpot I have doesn’t have a timer function, so I turned it on low before I went to bed and turned it off when I woke up. My apartment smelled amazing in the morning.

The flavor of the stew is sweet and savory and the chicken thighs are tender and juicy. This dish completely made me crock pot obsessed!

DIY oatmeal packets

Oatmeal is back!! Honestly, it’s the perfect snack. It’s transportable, cooks in minutes, is super filling and can be flavored an infinite number of ways. And I love it.

So my morning routine has been going like this – wake up at 5:30 a.m., go to the gym, come home and shower and eat breakfast and get on the train. An hour and a half later I’m at work and that’s when I have my coffee and face the vending machines.

Have I not told you about the vending machines?

My office has two – TWO!! – free vending machines. One is stocked with soda and yogurt (super sugary and processed light & fit and dannon…sadly no plain chobani or fage) and the other is cereal, oatmeal, Clif bars, Kind bars, fruit snacks and candy. They are not the evilest of vending machines, but I always find myself wanting a snack when I get into work as everyone else eats their vending machine breakfasts.

This week I decided to have a lower calorie breakfast before I got on the train and then 1/2 cup of oatmeal when I got into work to keep the morning munchies at bay.

 

I pinned this forever ago and have been waiting for a reason to use the idea. I fill a Ziploc back with 40 g (1/2 cup) of oats and cinnamon and stevia and then when I get to work dump it in my mug with some water to heat in the microwave. The super awesome version of this is using cocoa powder instead of cinnamon. Chocolate oats. Mmmmm.

Lastly, Stove-top (and healthy!) hot cocoa

This weekend’s snow brought with it memories from my childhood of playing for hours outside and then coming in and defrosting with a cup of hot chocolate.

Not the good stovetop version with milk and marshmallows, however. My Weight Watchers obsessed mother made hot chocolate with water in the microwave….and didn’t use the whole packet of low fat Swiss Miss. Are you feeling deprived just reading this?

My version is simple and delicious and only 80 calories:

  • 1.5 cups of unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened dark cocoa powder
  • 1 packet of stevia

Put all of the ingredients in a pot and whisk over medium heat until it starts to simmer.

This drink is comforting after a long commute and totally makes up for the years of terrible watery hot chocolate.

Now, the numbers…

Starting weight: 243
Last week: 161.5
This week:
161.5
Total lost: 81.5

Click here for every weigh in, ever.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Life by Pinterest

  1. Hahaha I feel such kinship with your mother! I used to be obsessed with those diet swiss miss packets and I’d split them up for multiple servings too (with water, of course)… Once I “treated” myself to a whole packet made with skim milk and it felt so indulgent. Sad times lol.

Leave a Reply

