Mix and match moves

Getting up at 5:30 a.m. to go to the gym is not easy.

Ever.

I’m going on my third week of this routine, fueled by the fact that every time I leave the gym I feel absolutely invincible.

Begrudgingly, I’m a morning person. I love being with the morning gym crowd. I love waking up on the treadmill. I love knowing that after work, I can come home and watch as much West Wing as I want without guilt.

I have a pretty simple gym routine that gets me in and out in about 45 minutes feeling accomplished.

For the first 20-30 minutes I warm up with some brisk walking on the treadmill. Sometimes I turn up the incline, sometimes I run for 10-15 minutes, but most days it’s just walking.

I follow this up with a lot of stretching and then weights and abs. I don’t really follow a routine, but I have a few moves that I love that I feel like give me a great workout.

total body workout

Every day I pick a few different moves so I’m not overworking anything, ending each session with a plank and some breathing in child’s pose.

Before I started working with my trainer I thought that every workout had to leave me exhausted, but now I know that just a combination of simple moves can be just as effective for getting and staying in shape.

In college I took a few yoga classes and there was one teacher who would always tell us just to “do whatever feels delicious to your body” and it’s a concept I’ve carried with me.

Even though I’ve been going at this weight loss thing for over two years, working out consistently still sometimes feels new and intimidating and strange so I think back to that yoga teacher whenever I can sense myself getting overwhelmed.

It’s a requirement for me that everything I’m doing to lose weight be sustainable for the long term, and having a core set of moves that both challenges and energizes my body fits right in.

Happy, delicious Monday!

 

4 thoughts on “Mix and match moves

  1. I love Russian twists! This is such a great approach to working out, I really like the idea of doing something “delicious.” (Though I’d probably never do burpees again if “delicious” is the only criteria haha.) Happy Monday, Jodi!

  2. I loathe that I have to go to the gym after work because I’m usually tired and want to watch tv and veg! But I loathe mornings more, so I’m an evening gym-goer. 🙂 Kudos to you getting it done!

Leave a Reply

