Get naked

Here’s my number one tip to looking good, feeling great and being happy and healthy: Get naked.

Get naked without regret.

Get naked with someone who loves you naked.

Get naked in front of the mirror and smile at what you see.

Get naked and dance.

Get naked and talk about how much you love being naked. Talk about how much you love your body.

Tonight I read a piece written by my hero. A woman who is my body-love savior. The woman who taught me that fat is not the worst thing you can be. The woman, whose words I try to remember above all else as I’m learning what “healthy” means for me, that says its okay to be fat.

Please read it. It’s about the media and society’s reaction to Lena Dunham and her body. Even if you don’t watch Girls. Even if you HATE Girls (you shouldn’t, it’s the best show ever), even if you don’t know who Lena Dunham is,ย Read it.

It made me angry. It made me cry. And it made me remember that I have to work hard at loving my body.

Before I went to Costa Rica, I decided to put away my scale. I saw the familiar patterns creeping up and I didn’t like it. The pattern of me eating according to the number on the scale that morning, and not according to how I felt or what I wanted.

Since then, I’ve weighed myself just once, on New Year’s Eve, and then the scale went right back under my dresser.

In the time that I’ve stopped weighing myself, I’ve started looking at myself.

Seeing my body, without a number on it. Remembering all the bits that I love.

I’ll give it to you straight: It’s fucking hard to love your body. I know this because almost no one I know is happy with how they look.

This is also why I know that it is possible to love your body now, not after you’ve lost weight, or after you start going to the gym, or after you fit into a size 2.

There’s no place except the present that will suddenly make you like what you see. You just have to do it.

To get there, stop reading women’s magazines. Stop watching TV (except for, ya know, Girls, keep watching that), and start paying attention to what you’re saying about yourself. Only allow the thoughts that are loving. Only allow the thoughts that are positive.

Strip down and strip away literally and figuratively whatever doesn’t fit with your commitment to loving yourself and your body.

Get naked.

Love being in your skin.

No if’s and’s or jiggly butts.

Fat or not.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Get naked

  1. One of my major goals this year is to work on self-love and this article really hit home. It’s so hard to look at the world in a non-superficial way when the majority of the media (and society)is so focused on it. Loved this entry and the article you recommended! Thank you for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That’s a great goal! It’s something now women deal with and the issue of loving your body is never talked about as much. I’m glad you enjoyed the article.

  2. Great post and great article recommendation! And I totally agree — getting naked, even just to hang out around the house (as long as you live alone or your roommates don’t mind haha), is such a good way to just get comfortable with yourself and your body. Thanks Jodi ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

