Paleo, take three!

Let’s see…I haven’t posted since…Christmas?!

Things have been fairly calm around these parts and I 100% credit my triumphant return to paleo.

Let’s just say, third time’s a charm!

My first experience with paleo was rocky and difficult. I was overwhelmed, unsure, not entirely motivated. My second time with paleo was the (not so perfect) month of Whole 30. I did better, was more sure of myself but something still didn’t feel right. I remember being nauseous a lot and just, not happy.

This time, I went into it with totally different goals. I’ve posted a bit on the blog about having bouts of sadness and having some anxiety. For me, the sadness and anxiety always felt like something I wasn’t supposed to have. The best way I can explain it is to say, those terrible down moment truly felt like something was off IN me, instead of external forces making me sad/anxious.

I started doing some reading on autoimmune disorders and how they affect mood, and how a lot of the banned ingredients on the Paleo diet also contribute to feelings of anxiety and depression and I knew I had to give it one more try. For my mental as well as my physical health.

Now, to be perfectly honest, I don’t think I have an autoimmune disorder. But I do think I have symptoms of a leaky gut, which contribute to those feelings.

So, here’s what’s on the no list for me this time around:

NO sugar (honey, agave, etc.)

NO dairy

NO eggs

NO nuts (almonds, cashews, etc.)

NO nightshades (eggplant, tomatoes, pepper)

NO coffee or chocolate <;—torture!

The NO list also includes all the typical list of banned Paleo foods like all grains and legumes.

However, and this is a HUGE however – I learned my first two times doing paleo that I get a bit crazy with restriction mindsets. So, let's just call this a "perfect health" list and who's perfect? Not me. And I don't plan to be. Today I had black coffee. Last week I had dark chocolate espresso beans. On New Year's Eve I ate bread, drank wine, and had ice cream for desert.

Life still has to be lived, with these rules as a blueprint, I feel that I have better control over my mood as well as my health.

So, what have I been eating? TONS of vegetables and all things coconut.

My vegetables list includes:

Spinach, kale, okra (new favorite – try roasting!), cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, zucchini, broccoli, and collard greens.

My protein list includes:

Chicken, pork, ground turkey, tilapia, salmon and beef.

My fats list includes:

Coconut oil, coconut butter, coconut milk…are you getting the theme? Also, avocado and olive oil and olives.

These foods are supplemented with sauerkraut, coconut kefir, coconut flour, and all kinds of fruits but mostly berries and apples.

That's it.

Pure, simple, nutritious.

I have none of the nausea that I experienced my first two times on paleo and *TMI alert* my body didn't…clog up…like it did the first two times on paleo. These results were pretty much the only proof I needed that taking paleo a step further to eliminate eggs, dairy, and nuts was totally necessary.

Each time I try out this way of eating I come in with a different perspective and with more education on why the paleo way of eating is so beneficial.

Another thing that has helped this time around is having a friend be on the Paleo train with me. Tracey started paleo a few weeks before I did and hearing all of her great reactions made me excited to try it out again.

I don’t have pictures to share with you of my meals, but here are some recent recipes that I’ve tried and loved:

Dairy-free shrimp chowder (I substituted pork chorizo for shrimp)

Roasted Okra

Dairy & egg free strawberry mousse (AMAZING. make immediately!)

Coconut Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies (I subbed coconut milk for almond milk, stevia for honey, and instead of chocolate chips put in a heaping teaspoon of ginger. Delicious.)

Happy eating and HAPPY Friday!

2 thoughts on “Paleo, take three!

  1. YAY! I’m glad you’re feeling so great and, most of all, happy! You’re right — we’re not *supposed to* feel chronically sad/anxious/depressed for no reason. And thanks for sharing the recipes. I’ve always been wary of okra but I’ll have to try roasting it, thanks for the tip.

  2. I have to try that shrimp chowder–looks super easy, and really yummy. AND it has two of the foods I’m currently obsessed with: cauliflower and coconut milk. So glad you posted again, I didn’t want to pressure you, but I really missed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

