Lessons from fat acceptance

Things I know to be true, but regularly forget:

1. My body, its size, my fat, does not define or dictate my happiness or self worth. My weight does not stand in my way of life.

2. Fat is not the worst thing you can be as a woman, despite the media telling you so every minute of every day.

3. Health is not the size of my jeans. Health is not how many calories I ate yesterday. Health is not the number on the scale.

4. Food is not a moral issue. There are no “good” or “bad” foods. Similarly, eating a cookie does not make you bad and choosing a salad instead of fries does not make you good.

5. Smile at your reflection. Take pride in your rolls, stretch marks, dimpled skin. It is your beautiful, lived-in skin. Also, sleep naked as often as possible.

6. I am enough at my current weight. I was enough at 243 pounds. I am not broken or in need of fixing.

7. Self love, body acceptance, does not just happen. It will not magically be something you are blessed with when you reach a certain goal. It takes work and effort. Visualize yourself happy. Visualize yourself at peace with food. Visualize a full, joyful life – fat or not.

9. Don’t waste energy with comparison or wishing for another reality. Settle in with what you’ve got.

10. Breathe in. Practice gratitude. Breathe out. Be thankful.

5 thoughts on “Lessons from fat acceptance

  1. Thank you for this. Such good reminders to start the week on. I’m especially partial to “Smile at your reflection.” I’m seriously tempted to write it on a Post-It and stick it on the ladies room mirror at work!

  2. I like this quite a bit. I found Size/Fat Acceptance after losing about 125 pounds. While I’m now at a “healthy” BMI and weight, my life hasn’t magically improved in the many ways I thought it would. That said, being fat was absolutely not healthy for me, by any metric, and I was certainly far less happy then than I am today.
    It’s a difficult balance to strike. There is much in Size Acceptance that I really like, and I try to promote those ideals whenever I can – but I have yet to successfully translate SA practices into my own life. As much as HAES appeals to me in theory, it just doesn’t work out in practice; reading HAES websites inevitably makes me feel worse about myself. It’s an odd dynamic, to be sure.
    I’d be interested in reading what you think about FA/SA now that you’ve lost weight. Do you think there’s space in SA discourse for people who have intentionally lost substantial amounts of weight? I want to say “yes,” but many of the SA sites I read say “no.”

    • I absolutely love this comment and I’m sorry I didn’t get to respond sooner but I’ve been thinking about it!

      It is absolutely an odd dynamic, and I so much identified with FA that it’s hard to feel like it still applies to me now that I’ve lost a lot of weight.

      I would love to say “yes” as well – but I know what I’m doing, calorie counting, etc, is not a part of the FA mission.

      I always want to write more about this…and I’m going to start!

Leave a Reply

