Not just fuel

In all the calorie counting, weighing, measuring, prepping, and planning it’s easy to forget that sometimes eating can just be fun and pleasurable because the food is good and the company is great.

So while Thanksgiving certainly didn’t help with my weight-loss goals, it was a wonderful day spent cooking with my sister and enjoying our hard work with our family.

20121127-182211.jpg

I indulged a bit more freely than I had planned in food and wine, but made every effort to get right back to clean eating the next day.

I also felt good that we at least started the day with some activity in the form of a 5k turkey trot!

20121127-182550.jpg

In my post-Thanksgiving gluttonous state I went a bit too vegetable crazy at the supermarket and now am tasked with the challenge of working copious amounts of roughage into every meal.

I’m not exaggerating.

My What I Ate Wednesday theme is definitely No Vegetable Left Behind – I got collard greens, zucchini, tomatoes, broccoli, baby carrots, spinach (fresh AND frozen), acorn squash, eggplant, and avocado. Whoops!

20121127-182832.jpg

With spinach coming out the wazoo, breakfast this week is two whole eggs and a 1/3 cup of egg whites scrambled in 1/2 tbsp of coconut oil with a few handfuls of baby spinach.

20121127-183021.jpg

Lunch is a mishmash of items including more baby spinach, 6 oz of chicken breast, 1 oz of almonds and zucchini that I sautéed in a sauce of liquid aminos (soy sauce) and almond butter and a bit of NuNaturals stevia <— obsessed! The NuNaturals brand is worth the extra money. I’ve hated every experience with fake sugar except for this brand of stevia.

20121127-183347.jpg

Baby carrots on the side.

20121127-183424.jpg

On Monday night I met my other sister for dinner in New York City before she flew back to Florida and we went to the popular raw/vegan eatery Angelica’s Kitchen.

I wish I had a picture to show you of my food but I was starving! I got a plate of their “basics” including tofu, kale, a mix of winter squashes and some pickled beets and mushrooms and cleaned the whole plate.

Last night dinner was my typical fare – a plate of acorn squash, steamed collard greens and broccoli and a filet of tilapia.

 

20121127-222906.jpg

Desert was a cup of plain Kefir (yay probiotics!) mixed with stevia and cocoa powder. Delicious.

Now…The Numbers.

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 159.5

This week: 161.5

Change: +2

Total loss: 81.5

 

3 thoughts on “Not just fuel

  1. Looks just like my breakfast, except I opted for three whole eggs and lots of arugula. Eggs and arugula + reading this blog = fantastic start to a long, long day.

  2. I actually can’t stomach most stevia because it hurts my stomach from the additives. The brand that I’ve come to like is SweetLeafs. I’ve heard a lot of good things about NuNaturals too though!

    That is definitely a lot of veggies! If you are looking to get rid of some quick, maybe try making a big homemade pot of vegetable broth. Super easy and it would last a long time with the right seasonings.

Leave a Reply

