A series of fortunate events

So happy to have bright, sunny skies back this weekend!

With all the weather uncertainty, crazy schedules, visiting friends, and just general lack of sleep my runs have sucked lately.

But I returned to my go-to (and favorite) running spot on Saturday well rested and properly fueled (oatmeal and coffee) to knock out four miles using walk/run intervals.

Overall it went well, but the shin pain that forced me to stop running in May has returned somewhat so I’m doubling down on wearing my Zensah compression sleeves, spending extra time stretching, and painfully foam rolling so hopefully it doesn’t get worse and maybe even goes away.

I just need my shins to make it to the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving, and then I think I should probably turn my focus to strength training.  I totally abandoned all efforts at weight lifting and body-weight exercises when I stopped seeing my trainer. Maybe some CrossFit in my future? Hmmm…

I also think it’s probably time to invest in a new pair of Brooks. The bottoms are looking pretty smooth – no good!

As disappointing as it was to be feeling shin pain, I was just happy that my path was clear and the skies were blue. It felt so nice to run in just a t-shirt as two days before I was wearing long sleeves, long pants, gloves, and ear warmers.

The rest of the weekend was devoted to cooking, babysitting and drinking – but not all at once ;)!

I looked after my nephews for a few hours on Sunday morning and we all had a blast playing air hockey, Foosball, and video games at the Fair Lawn Community Center.

After turning the monsters back over to their parents, I met up with my friend Amanda at two spots that we have been dying to try – Uncorked Wine Lounge for drinks and Kafe Neo for crepes. The restaurants are right next to each other so we were able to sit in the wine lounge and be served the food from Kafe Neo.

I’ve been way better lately at being able to balance eating out/drinking with losing weight and I know my friends appreciate it. I’m getting used to trusting my body to tell me when it’s full and worrying less about needing to know the portion sizes and calorie counts of everything. I’m also eating foods that were largely off limits to me more regularly – like wine, bread, candy, etc. – to work on moderation.

A flight of red for Amanda and a flight of white for me.

To be honest, I miss the stable energy I had from Whole30 and paleo eating, but I also love wine and froyo. Somewhere there is a balance and I’m working to find it.

Speaking of balance, after demolishing a cheese plate, Amanda and I split a delicious crepe filled with strawberries and caramel and topped with dulche de leche gelato. I used to not really like caramel but lately I can’t get enough of it! Taste buds are strange little buggers.

I had to try a bite first! Eating > Instragram.

Right now it’s back to work – my usual train is finally up and running again but unfortunately the PATH is still out and my only option between New Jersey and New York is a very expensive ferry.

I took the ferry for the first time on Friday and loved it! If it wasn’t double the price of the PATH I would ride the boat all the time. For now, I think I’m just going to spend the extra cash and enjoy the experience. I’m sure I’ll look back on this time in my life remembering the boat ride and not the money spent.

“If you are irritated by every rub, how will your mirror be polished?” – Rumi

I’ll be back with new eats on Wednesday – see you then!

One thought on “A series of fortunate events

  1. Yay crossfit! 🙂 I can’t wait to read about your experience. I hope you like it, but either way adding strength training back is a great idea. Hopefully it’ll help with your shin pain, too. (It helped with my shin splints and IT band-related pain.)

Leave a Reply

