Things I am thinking

My mind is in a million different directions right now.

First of all, the election results are coming as I type (!!!). I write my posts the night before they go up, so I’m currently sitting in bed just watching the news scroll in front of me on Twitter. Exciting!

(UPDATE: Obaaamaaaa!)

I’m not going to even try to write anything cohesive tonight. We’ll just have a brain dump of sorts.

Things I am thinking

1. Social media is awesome. I’ve lived without cable and a TV for over two years now and would never, ever, ever think about going back. That being said, there are some times where having access to the news is useful, you know, like when a hurricane is approaching New Jersey. But from fitness inspiration, to news updates, and now election coverage, I’ve been able to stay completely updated through social media. Twitter, and the things that happen on there, are unbelievable. I can tweet something like “I don’t feel like running tonight” and immediately have someone tweet-yell at me to get my butt out the door. I’m able to get updates for NJ Transit/PATH, which will hopefully come in handy as I attempt to make it into NYC. And then there’s Newark Mayor Cory Booker. Swoon.

2. Re-stocking a refrigerator is expensive! I had to throw out all my food after Hurricane Sandy knocked out my power for a week. In the days leading up, I tried to eat as much perishable foods as possible, but unfortunately there was still a lot that had to be thrown out. I pride myself on not wasting food and making impeccable shopping lists so that I’m not wasting food or money so it was definitely a bummer to be tossing things like eggs and frozen vegetables. On Sunday I did only a small re-stocking and tried not to grimace at the grocery bill. I’m just going to go about building up my fridge essentials slowly and hope that the snow storm expected to hit over the next couple of days doesn’t kill the power again.

3. Thank you Retro Fitness! I debated whether to renew my membership with Retro Fitness after my year-long contract ended in August. While I don’t use the gym as frequently anymore, the membership totally paid for itself as I was able to shower and charge my cellphone there during the hurricane. My local Fair Lawn Retro Fitness graciously opened its doors to members and non-members during the storm and I know many people appreciated the move. The club is cheap enough ($20 a month) that I don’t feel guilty if I don’t go all the time, but expensive enough to keep the facility clean and the machines working. Much love to Retro this week.

4. Here is one of the most important weight loss tips ever: Weigh yourself on the same scale at the same time. Before you eat. Without clothes. If you can’t do this, then don’t bother with the scale that day (or week). I broke my own rule this week as I was staying with a lot of different friends because my apartment was dark and freezing. I knew I was eating healthy and exercising but I’ve been weighing myself daily again so the few days without stepping on the scale were driving me nuts. Instead of listening to good reason, I used someone else’s scale, fully clothed, after I had already eaten some breakfast. Most of the time numbers don’t matter, but I totally freaked out when I looked down. I was able to use my own scale in the morning the next day and was happy to see lower, consistent numbers. The stress from inaccurate numbers is worse than the curiosity of not knowing. Lesson learned.

5. Simplicity wins. Ever since my week of eating grilled cheese, I haven’t had the motivation to make elaborate dishes, and that’s just fine. I’ve been making lots of quick, healthy meals and that’s been a savior with my weird schedule. I think a year ago a schedule shift like this would have thrown me off my healthy-eating game, but not anymore. It was hard to know what to buy for lunches and dinners this week because I didn’t know if I would be in the office, so I decided to follow the advice of faux foodie Ruth Bourdain (Thanks, Maggie!) and use up some of my pantry items.

If I do end up getting into the office, lunch will be quinoa, kidney beans and artichoke hearts. I threw this together in about 10 minutes and am pairing it with some cocoa roasted almonds. Easy and filling.

(Morning update: on a bus.. This should be interesting)

Honestly, I kind of wanted to ditch my commitment to bringing my own lunch this week and just buy food in the city but I’m glad I decided to put in the extra effort to brown-bag it. There’s never a reason not to eat the way you intend to, friends.

Now…The Numbers.

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 158

This week: 158.5

Change: +.5

Total loss: 84.5

5 thoughts on “Things I am thinking

  1. A good reminder that healthy eating can always be a priority. Something this grad school student needs to keep in mind. With that being said, I’m currently sipping on a banana/blueberry/kale smoothie made in ze vitamix. Good luck with your first day back at work post katrina.

  2. Being in Florida, I’m STILL waiting to find out if I live in a blue state or red state. I think it’s blue but we’ll see right?

    I’m happy with the results 🙂 and that’s all I’m going to say about that.

    Good luck with everything! I ADORE social media. Some of the things people were saying on Twitter had me LOL’ing all night which got me through watching our State #s flip flop all night. ugh

    It is a double edge sword sometimes though considering internet trolls have zero accountability and can say whatever they want. Nothing is perfect I guess.

    Good luck with everything! Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

