Say “Cheese!”

Sunday was truly a day of rest for me this weekend.

I did not cook.

I did not want to cook.

Ok, it was more like, I did not want to wash dishes, but still, my desire to stay out of the kitchen this weekend meant my meal plan needed to include a dinner that could be thrown together quickly, did not need much prep time, but was also healthy.

Grilled cheese to the rescue.

You know, peanut butter & jelly’s comfort food partner in crime.

Toasted bread. Gooey cheese. Sliced diagonally. My stomach and inner child were both made happy this week.

First, let’s back up to breakfast.

I’ve been a fan of whisking egg whites into my oats for a while now. The addition of the whites not only adds protein but it literally doubles the volume of the oats and creates the creamiest texture.

However, my egg white oats were totally trumped this week when I discovered the greatness of whisking the whole egg into the oats. Thanks to Susan at The Great Balancing Act and her recipe for custard oats I have a new way to enjoy my favorite breakfast that now includes carbs, protein and FAT. Yay for yolks!

 

 I pumped up my version by filling the pot with 1/2 cup of oats, 2 cups of water and two eggs.

This recipe is so easy and quick and filling in the morning. The oats DO NOT taste eggy, but have all the benefits of eating eggs for breakfast. I’ve been craving my oats just as they are with a little cinnamon – no pumpkin or banana or blueberries stirred in this week.

Lunch: This may be the most boring lunch ever.

Salad greens topped with tomato, cucumbers, carrots, 4 oz of chicken breast and Trader Joe’s Asian Style Spicy Peanut Vinaigrette. 

No creativity here, folks.

Just straight up salad and the only salad dressing currently in the refrigerator.

With it, I also brought a 100-calorie pack of Blue Diamond’s cinnamon brown sugar almonds and an apple.

It’s not the most exciting lunch to blog about, but it got the job done.

Dinner: CHEESE.

So much cheese.

I did the bulk of my grocery shopping at Trader Joe’s this weekend since I wanted a few items only they carry, like the Trader Joe’s White Bean Tuscan Hummus, Ezekiel bread, and because they have the greatest cheese selection.

I ended up buying a pack of sliced muenster and a pack of sliced cheddar.

Monday night’s creation: Ezekiel sesame bread topped, on one slice, with about half an avocado, and the other slice with 1 tbsp of the white bean hummus, and muenster.

Because this dinner was severely lacking in vegetables, I also nuked some frozen string beans (another Trader Joe’s purchase) at the last minute and tossed them in hot sauce. So good.

Tuesday night I topped the Ezekiel bread with tomato sauce that my sister had made me from a recipe out of Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything and some sliced mushrooms and cheddar.

I am one happy, non-dish-washing woman this week!

Also – I recently upgraded from using the notepad on my phone for my grocery list to using a checklist on the Evernote App. I was looking for some kind of digital list that I could update from my computer and my phone and Evernote has been perfect. I know the app has a bunch more features, but this is the first way I’ve found it truly useful.

Basically, my meal planning includes spending an hour on Pinterest and other food blogs formulating ideas for meals. I then decide on one breakfast, lunch, and dinner option for the week and enter ingredients I need into the list.

I like Evernote because I can keep my staple foods on there but can un-check or check the box depending on whether I need it that week and the app synchronizes wirelessly between my phone and computer.

For more awesome meal options – check out what tons of other bloggers are eating for What I ate Wednesday!

Now…The Numbers.

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 164

This week: 163

Change: -1

Total loss: 80 

 

8 thoughts on “Say “Cheese!”

  1. You reminded me that dinner doesn’t have to be so complicated…we used to do eggs weekly & have gotten away from that…going to try it again! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

