Shumpkin shoatmeal

Hello and happy What I ate Wednesday!

I’m not feeling too chatty today – I pulled something in my lower back either over the weekend or on Monday and now it hurts to move, so this WIAW also includes Ibuprofen around the clock!

Breakfast: I should be embarrassed that I’m going on two weeks of pumpkin oatmeal for breakfast every day, but I’m not. I won’t, however, grace you with another picture. Because there are only so many ways to capture oats, unless you’re KERF of course. Then the possibilities are apparently endless.

I’m also snacking on hard boiled again this week mid morning – they are the perfect filler between my 7 a.m. breakfast and noon-1 p.m. lunch.

20121009-182117.jpg

Lunch:I went from being someone who grimaced at the thought of cottage cheese to now putting it in everything, at my sister’s insistence. See, I do listen to you once in a while, Stacy!

The containers this week are packed with 1/2 cup of quinoa, 1 cup of cherry tomatoes, roasted cauliflower & asparagus, about 2 oz of boiled chicken breast, and 1/4 cup of 2% cottage cheese. Weird and delicious. Filing, yet low in calories.

20121009-181930.jpg

Dinner Chili! Warm, spicy, chunky chili. I used this recipe from Cooking Light as inspiration, but really the only thing that’s the same are the great northern beans. I’ve never tried them before but now I can say I’m definitely a fan!

20121009-182608.jpg

In the pot went 2 cans of great northern beans (drained and rinsed), 2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes, 1 bag of chopped broccoli (7 cups), 9 cups of baby spinach, 2 onions, 2 cups of chicken broth, and lots of seasoning including chili powder, cumin, red pepper flakes, and garlic.

Before I made the chili, I had boiled about 2 lbs of chicken breast. Some of it went in my lunch but the rest was chopped up and added to the chili right at the end.

Because it is packed the vegetables, I got six huge servings out of the above ingredients.

I love being able to come home, ladle a few cups of chili out to reheat and have dinner ready in a few minutes.

Temperatures took a serious nose dive this week – chili season is officially upon us!

Desert: More unsweetened chocolate! I eat a square every night. Completely. Addicted. It’s not sweet, but it satisfies my sweet tooth?! I can’t explain it.

Now…The Numbers.

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 165

This week: 164

Change: -1

Total loss: 79

2 thoughts on “Shumpkin shoatmeal

Leave a Reply

