Close to home

It was a lazy weekend.

Between short bursts of productivity, I caught up on the fall TV premiers (The Office, 30 Rock, Parks & Rec, and Modern Family) and laid around hoping a magic caffeine fairy would make me coffee and serve it to me in bed.

I wish the sun stayed out a bit longer – although I did catch a glimpse of it on my lunch break on Friday.

On Saturday I took a long, slow walk alone at my favorite place – The Saddle River County Park. The leaves are just starting to change color and fall of the trees.

I completed 5 miles while listening to music and people watching. I don’t know if it’s like this at other parks – but there are so many people who roller blade on this path! Although it looks empty, there are always tons of people around and it’s motivating to see how everyone gets their sweat on.

The rest of the weekend was spent meal planning and cooking. I made a huge batch of chili that I can’t wait to share with you on Wednesday. I also made the switch from the small cans of pumpkin to the big can as evidenced below. It goes in everything!

I forgot how long meal prep takes with calorie counting. It’s always worth the effort though! My fridge is stocked with lunches + dinners for the week and all the dishes are entered into MyFitnessPal.

Sunday I had big plans to run, but I got lazy as it was raining on and off. However, I ended up having froyo for dinner and knew I would need to follow it up with a run to feel better about that decision.

It was raining. It was cold. It was slow and it was dark…but I ended up running almost 4 miles! I find that if I stay at a 12-13 min/mile pace, my breathing stays pretty normal and I feel comfortable running for much longer.

I have a 5K planned for the end of October and then it’s my one year race-a-versary on Thanksgiving with the same 5K turkey trot! I’ve had no problems with shin splints so far and am thinking about training for a 10K again….hopefully running continues to go well!

Having a very blah case of the Mondays right now – blaming allergies and lack of sun. Hopefully making some oatmeal will perk me back up 🙂

Leave a Reply

