Food with a view

I’m eating so well this week that it’s hard to believe I’m following a “strict” food plan.

Seriously. I have a total crush on Whole30 right now. So…here’s what I’m eating this week! (Also…if you love food gawking..check a bunch more of What I Ate Wednesdays on Peas and Crayons)

Breakfast: Two eggs scrambled with about 3 oz of Trader Joes canned salmon and a few handfuls of spinach. The whole combo is heated up in a pan with coconut oil and ginger and then doused in hot sauce. And of course, life wouldn’t be complete without the  giant mug o’ coffee.

20120911-183028.jpg

Lunch: Pineapple Mojito Salad!! and sliced pork loin. My lunch was inspired from a salad I saw at Whole Foods over the weekend that was too easy and delicious not to recreate.

20120911-183840.jpg

My version included a whole pineapple, six mini cucumbers, and a jicama dressed with lime juice, coconut shreds and fresh mint and topped with raw pepitas. You have to make it. The mix of the crunchy jicama, with the sweet pineapple and tangy lime juice is super refreshing.

20120911-184058.jpg

Dinner:  I was craving fish when I went food shopping this weekend so I bought a huge bag of frozen tilapia to slowly work through. On Monday, I baked four of the filets in the oven with and have been eating them every night paired with chopped veggies nuked in the microwave and Kalamata olives or avocado for a super quick and healthy meal.

20120911-184448.jpg

This week I’ve also been using my lunch breaks to wander around the financial district and appreciate how close I am to some great views of the city.

Like the South Street Seaport.

20120911-190644.jpg

And Brooklyn’s right across the water.

20120911-190715.jpg

There’s also some really pretty architecture among all the skyscrapers.

20120911-190733.jpg

Now…The Numbers

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 163.5

This week: 162.5

Change: -1

Total loss:80.5

9 thoughts on “Food with a view

  1. I adore NYC in its entirety! Hope you are having a blast!

    I love that you also believe that healthy doesn’t have to mean not good :). Healthy food can be delicious and leave you feeling energized and not weighed down!

    Have a wonderful week!

  2. That pineapple mojito salad sounds like the perfect summer food! Next summer haha.

    Is TJ’s the type of frozen fish you usually get? I’ve tried a few and haven’t really liked them but I don’t think I’ve ever made it to that one.

Leave a Reply

