Whole30 Week 1 reflections

I made it through a whole week of Whole30!

Although I threw myself a little bit of a pity party on Friday after work when I saw everyone walking around the city with ice cream cones, so far I haven’t been too tempted to break the program.

I took a walk to the charging bull instead of the Mister Softee truck

The headache I had during the first few days is completely gone and I’ve been eating some extra fruit on days that I feel like I need a sugar boost. Frozen bananas and frozen blueberries have been saviors!

The other thing I’m really digging is NOT counting calories. I was a little uneasy for the first few days and even tried to add up things in my head – but the freedom from having to weigh and measure everything has been fantastic.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do after the 30 days is over with regards to calorie counting, but I’ll make that decision when the time comes.

So far most of my meals have been a good mix of protein, fat (mostly from avocado and coconut oil) and vegetables with small portions of fruit and nuts throughout the day. To be honest, I’m enjoying this a lot more than I did my first paleo experience because of how strict and guided the program is.

Typical breakfast of eggs scrambled with spinach, half an avocado and a frozen banana

I’m going into this week a little more prepared than last week, with hard boiled eggs and sliced turkey for snacks instead of relying on fruits, nuts, and baby carrots. So far I haven’t missed my usual staples of Greek yogurt and hummus. Every time I change up my eating it’s fun because then I get to try a whole new set of recipes.

Trip 1 of 2 for groceries on Sunday

Besides more stable energy, I haven’t noticed too many other changes. According to the website, this is what I should be going through:

The first week or two will be tough, as your body heals and adjusts to this new way of eating and your brain wraps itself around going without all those sweet tastes and sugar-driven energy spikes.And while you may start to feel better after a week or two… the healing process takes significantly longer. In addition, the mental addiction and emotional connections to sugary foods, large amounts of processed carbohydrates and over-the-top, chemically-altered flavors is going to take a lot longer to overcome.

 

To be fair, I wasn’t eating a whole lot of sugary foods, processed carbohydrates and chemically altered flavors to begin with. I’m proud to say that my diet was pretty clean before I started this challenge, but I was falling back into autopilot mode with my meals so this has certainly shaken things up.

The biggest change is how much time I spend thinking about and preparing my food. I have to wake up earlier every morning to cook breakfast and grocery shopping took double the amount of time it usually does. I can’t say I mind however, I actually really like doing all of these things.

I also love that I found a whole new set of blogs to read! My favorite has been Holly Would if She Could – who just posted a blog about tips to making your Whole30 a success.

Ok – I’m off to make some more eggs – Can’t wait to post this week’s eats on Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Whole30 Week 1 reflections

Leave a Reply

