Happier, whole living

Let’s get real.

For the past couple of weeks I haven’t felt like myself. I spoke a little bit about how I felt I had been eating too much sugar. Certainly drinking too much alcohol. And just overall giving in to my indulgences too freely.

In the moment, I get to indulge in simple pleasures. The next day (and for many days after) my emotions are all over the place, I regret the decisions I make, etc. It finally all culminated in all-out emotional crash this weekend. My friends can attest, it wasn’t pretty.

Once again, Gretchen Rubin’s advice on happiness comes to the rescue.

One thing I love about her is that she really explores why things that seemingly should make us happy (i.e. pleasurable indulgences) don’t actually result in happiness.

One of my favorite pieces of advice she gives is in the moderator/abstainer personality quiz where I learned that I, most definitely, am an abstainer.

You’re a moderator if you…
– find that occasional indulgence heightens your pleasure – and strengthens your resolve
– get panicky at the thought of “never” getting or doing something

You’re an abstainer if you…
– have trouble stopping something once you’ve started
– aren’t tempted by things that you’ve decided are off-limits

As Gretchen  says in the post, people are very judgmental of abstainers.

This is one of the difficulties I faced when I first decided to change my life, but I live best when I’m completely dedicated. All in. Don’t take a break.

Listen, you can’t always be perfect, but for me, taking an all-or-nothing approach results in consistency. I don’t believe in  cheat days, or days off.

As I mostly kept to myself this weekend, I had a lot of time to catch up on blog reading and stumbled upon the Whole9 website, creators of the Whole30 program.

Basically, it’s an all-or-nothing 30 day approach to the paleo diet.

For 30 days, you eat vegetables, fruit, meat, eggs, nuts and seeds, and fats like avocado, coconut and olive oil.

You don’t eat grains, legumes, dairy, white potatoes, alcohol, and a bunch of other junk.

Also, I won’t be counting calories.

When I first tried paleo eating, I took and 80/20 approach, which pretty much resulted in me eating a lot of eggs and meat and also a lot of froyo. The wiggle room killed me.

I also like that it’s about confronting the food addictions you have. The program is very clear that you should NOT try to make paleo versions of your favorite foods. It’s about learning to eat a different, cleaner way. Usually I’m not about doing things that aren’t sustainable, but this seems like it could really be an interesting learning experience for me and my body.

The Whole30 program is not about moderation. It’s about doing it. All out. The way I know how to do it.

I didn’t lose 80 (ehhh, ish) pounds by kind of living a different life. I changed everything about it. What I did, what I read, what I talked about, how I ate, how I went grocery shopping. I changed my definition of fun, my definition of healthy, my definition of relaxing. I changed how I hung out with my friends, how I spent my free time and most importantly, I changed how I thought about myself.

You either do it or you don’t. And it’s time to do it.

Breakfast, Whole30 style:

  • 1 egg + 1/3 cup egg whites scrambled with coconut oil
  • Green monster smoothie with 1 cup frozen spinach, 1 frozen banana, 1/2 an avocado, 1/4 cup frozen blueberries, 2 tsp coconut oil, enough water to blend
  • Coffee with unsweetened almond milk

 

16 thoughts on “Happier, whole living

  1. Pingback: Fresh eats - Jodi, fat or not

  2. Pingback: Food with a view - Jodi, fat or not

  3. Pingback: A series of fortunate events - Jodi, fat or not

  4. Multiplayer versions is more exciting as in this, you’ll be able to team up or even contend with other participants to defeat the enemies. While having a passion for playing games is important, getting a rewarding career in game design will require students to be a cut above the competition. It can go as far as ruining their experience since it is the last interaction they have with a game.

  5. adsense_ad_unit += ” +. Car kits are Utilized by the users in their Auto mobiles
    to Find the way through directions and keep on connected with
    the Cell phone continuously. Click it and look inside for the folder regarding keyboards.

  6. No longer does a music lover need to bother about traveling out of range when a fantastic song comes on over the
    vehicle radio. It was an entertaining radio program that played the
    music people wanted to hear combined with his groovy upbeat personality.
    Another radio commercial production tip to chew on is to make
    sure the audio quality is excellent on any spot your produce.

  7. The internet is fueling the success of music because it can be listened to at any time of the day and anywhere in the world.

    Often, long term schedules with a bit of breathing room work
    best. Many people will be happy with replaceable batteries for home use and occasional outings.

  8. This would of course depend on how old the children are.
    True, but that does not make the games not less fun,
    or not less based on the movies. In the game, players should be able to able to
    make use of a slingshot in order to start the birds.

  9. Webcams can do a lot of things, such as video conferencing,
    virtual advertising, workplace or home surveillance, event broadcast, and many other functions.
    I haven’t really owned the mouse long enough to test the battery life, but Logitech claims it can run for up to two years on a single pair of batteries, and several other reviews I’ve found online
    attest to that fact. Click it and look inside for the folder regarding keyboards.

  10. It bears mentioning that there are also games and simulations available to those wanting to learn to trade stock index futures.
    It combines RPG elements and strategy for a very interesting game where you must stop the
    rows of pirates ship from making their way down
    the river. t love the unself-conscious little boy or girl,
    the undaunted miniature explorer who moves with unbridled
    enthusiasm to experience life.

  11. You don’t have to hit the gym for two and three hours each day to lose weight, but it does help to squeeze in 30 minutes of physical activity each day. Anyone who dares to make a closer inspection will find the underlying difference. Who does not need that little bit of elevation when trying to diet.

  12. Improving our carbon footprints should be done in every aspect
    of our lives including our children’s birthday parties. adsense_ad_unit += ‘<a class="adsense_abg" href="' + google_info. This helps prevent crumbs from getting in your frosting.

  13. But even if your salon is a smoke free environment, the smoke from straightening
    and curling irons can make tthe air thick. Always apply a heat protectant spray to your hair before using a curfling iron, flat iron or hair dryer.
    What you put on your skin iis as important aas what you eat.

  14. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless think of if you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could definitely be
    one of the very best in its field. Terrific blog!

Leave a Reply

