Happiness everywhere

Do you guys read Gretchen Rubin?

She wrote the book (one among others) called The Happiness Project.

But before there was a book, there was a blog on Slate.

And if it isn’t already well documented, I’m a Slate-o-holic. Addicted. Big Time.

I used to read her blog religiously. I think she stopped writing the blog about the time the book was released.

I learned a lot of good lessons from her.

  • Having a clean & orderly home space, and especially making your bed, contributes a lot to your overall happiness.
  • The things you think might make you happy, like lying around and watching TV, probably detract from your happiness.
  • Most decisions don’t require extensive research.

I could go on and on (Check out her Secrets of Adulthood – I swear by the truths on this list)

Anyway, as part of my return to intentional living, I was re-reading some of her wisdom and came across this:

“Don’t let perfect be the enemy of good”

 She’s quoting Voltaire when she says this, but it’s one of her tips for happiness. And when I read it again this week, it made a whole lot of sense.

Especially when we’re talking about healthy eating.

Especially when we’re talking about exercising.

I used to be in the mindset of most dieters, where if I had one “bad” meal – my whole day/week/month/year would be ruined. It’s not ever going to be possible to eat like I believe is perfect all the time, but I don’t let it ruin what is now a consistent pattern of healthy eating for me. I have to constantly remind myself that I’m not striving for perfection, I’m striving for sustainable and balanced.

Balanced like these delicious scones I made and eat for breakfast

The same goes with exercise. I almost skipped my run yesterday. I was supposed to get up and start Week 5 of Couch to 5K Tuesday morning, but I had a late night Monday and really needed the extra sleep in the morning

Work is extra awesome when I get to take my lunch breaks outside!

After work I was exhausted from the lack of sleep and the work day and really, really didn’t feel like lacing up my sneakers. I was resigned to not running when I got a second wind around 8:30 p.m. I had two choices. I could do a slower run in the dark (I’m terrified of tripping/falling and my gym membership just ended!) or I could continue laying in bed and vow to get up early Wednesday and do the run.

I picked the first option. A slow and steady night run that turned out great. It wasn’t as long as it should have been. I wasn’t as fast as I should have been. But I did it, and I felt fantastic after. If I had let the fact that it wouldn’t be “perfect” get in my way of going out, I would have done nothing at all.

There are a million ways to work being healthy into your life, even if you’re not 100% perfect with it, 100% of the time.

Just a little nugget if wisdom for this wonderful Wednesday 🙂

Now…The Numbers

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 166

This week: 164.5

Change: -1.5

Total loss:78.5

 

2 thoughts on “Happiness everywhere

  1. I am really intrigued by that book and blog! I wrote a post similar to this titled “You can still get an ‘A’ without all the correct answers.” As soon as I realized that, things changed. I’ve had a similar week with running and with a 5k coming up, I had some longer runs scheduled, but was having a hard time trying to fit them in. I finally decided to just do shorter ones. It’s better than not doing it at all!

    Cheers to your nighttime run!

  2. Big Slate fan too…I read Gretchen’s series and her book. I think the larger truths work, but I found the book to have a very privileged air, and a lot of what she said irked me (especially the chapter on friends. I have a very different philosophy than her and I am careful to treat my friends well.)

    However, I find *your* comments to be very solid advice to live by. In my grad program they are constantly telling us that perfect is the enemy of the good, and to rid ourselves of our perfectionist nature. I’m trying to keep myself balanced.

Leave a Reply

