Intention

I finally devoted time this weekend to slow down.

Think about the direction of my life.

Reflect on my actions and thoughts of the last couple weeks.

Admittedly, I kind of turned my brain off for the last few weeks.

Going through the motions of of my life. Doing the things that had to get done.

I was able to reconnect with myself this weekend. Check in. Pay attention.

Living intentionally, as part of living healthy, is something that requires constant devotion.

My intention is to live everyday with love. By being grateful. By being conscious of where my energy is going.

The conclusion?

I needed to clean up my thoughts as much as I needed to clean up my diet.

I’ve let my daily practice of being thankful and grateful slip by, and it’s something I desperately want to bring back.

I want to focus on speaking more kind words, in hopes that the more love I speak the less judgmental and critical I feel of myself and others.

Being negative – gossiping about others, judging myself and others harshly – may sometimes feel good in the moment, but it’s draining. Speaking, feeling and living openly and with trust and kindness is tough, but ultimately more rewarding.

With less free time during my day, it’s even more important that I stay vigilant about how that time is spent.

This week I challenge myself to stay in a positive mindset. For me, that means speaking positive words when others might not be. It means smiling every time I look in the mirror. It means listening to my gut and valuing my inner voice.

I’m working against my life intentions when I give in to things that may feel good in the moment.

Whether that’s indulging in critical or negative thoughts of myself or someone else or indulging in too much alcohol or ice cream, it’s against my intention to live a disciplined life of health and happiness.

My devotion to creating a morning running ritual is a good example of this. Getting up at 5:45 a.m. is rarely easy or enjoyable. The only thing pushing me out the door in the morning is thinking about how good I will feel after. Thinking about the crisp morning air and the rising sun. Thinking about my goals and realizing that going beyond momentary discomfort is as much an act of building strength in my mind as the running that follows builds strength in my body.

“Don’t think you can attain total awareness and whole enlightenment without proper discipline and practice. This is egomania. Appropriate rituals channel your emotions and life energy toward the light. Without the discipline to practice them, you will tumble constantly backward into darkness.” – Lao Tzu

 

2 thoughts on “Intention

  1. Pingback: Happier, whole living - Jodi, fat or not

Leave a Reply

