It’s a fiesta over here

Let’s just talk about some of the awesome that’s been happening lately.

While at fist I was a little….hesitant about my new schedule – taking the train every day, a longer commute, etc. – I think losing some of the control I had over my daily routine has really forced me to loosen up and not stress so much.

Everything happens for a reason, right?

I’ve really enjoyed going into the city every day for work. I’m enjoying the train more and more and love my walks to and from the Path.

Instagramming the city

ALSO….I woke up at 5:45 a.m. Monday and today to run!!!! I have been missing running like crazy. I really want to get my mileage back up to a 5K distance in time for the fall so I can sign up for some races.

Brooks…meet pavement.

I’m taking it really, really slow and easing back in using Couch to 5K, which is how I started running last year. I miss the feeling of just being able to step outside and run for a half hour straight. Starting from what feels like the beginning again is frustrating!

Getting up early to workout really made me feel like myself again in all the chaos of starting a new job. I love morning work outs and I love being up early. I don’t love going to bed at 10 p.m. – but it’s a small trade off for my health.

I don’t have much new to show you in the food department, after putting up the recipe for the veggie egg bake with gruyere cheese on Monday.

But, I will say, I’m pretty impressed with my lunch this week. Both for how cheap it is to make and also how full it keeps me!

So…here we go. WIAW just lunch edition :)!

After seeing a coworker eat beans and rice last week for lunch I was craving Mexican! I put together a 1/2 cup of quinoa, a 1/2 cup of black beans, a 1/4 cup of salsa and a 1/4 cup of crumbled feta for a fiesta in a tupperware! A red delicious apple and a serving of baby carrots rounds out the meal.

It may not look like much, but it tastes delicious. I eat it cold…but it would probably be great heated up as well.

Now…The Numbers

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 165

This week: 163

Change: -2

Total loss:80

 

5 thoughts on “It’s a fiesta over here

Leave a Reply

