Veggie Egg Bake with Gruyere Cheese

Once again I had a successful Sunday cookfest!

Inspiration for dishes come to me many different ways. Sometimes it’s a craving I want to satisfy. Sometimes it’s something I see on another blog or pinterest. And sometimes, like this week, inspiration strikes when three bags of spinach are sitting in the fridge about to turn.

After my fourth green monster in two days, I decided it was time to search for another way to use up the greens.

Spinach, banana, chocolate protein powder, and ice

Enter the spinach, egg and cheese bake. A classic combo that I really wanted to turn up a notch. I added in a few more veggies and decided on Gruyere cheese instead of cheddar or mozzarella. The cheese really makes this dish taste fancy. I’m usually not one to follow recipes exactly, but please, if you are going to make this dish, go with the Gruyere. It adds a richness that you wouldn’t be able to get with another cheese.

Veggie Egg Bake with Gruyere Cheese

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 10 eggs
  • 2 bags of fresh spinach (18 oz total)
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 1 container of whole baby portobello mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp of grapeseed oil
  • 4 oz of Gruyere cheese, grated

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Chop the onion and mushroom and sautee with 1/2 a tablespoon of the oil. When the onion and mushrooms start to soften, remove from the heat and layer the bottom of a baking dish with the vegetables. Then sautee the spinach with the other 1/2 tablespoon of oil and layer it on top of the mushrooms and onions after it wilts.
  • Sprinkle the grated cheese evenly over the vegetables.
  • Whisk all the eggs until the yolks and whites are combined and pour on top of the vegetables and cheese.
  • Bake for about 30-40 minutes at 350 degrees, or until the top begins to puff up and brown.

I was really happy with how this came out. As you may remember from my Paleo experiment, I’m not a fan of eggs for breakfast, so this dish will be divided into six servings and consumed for dinner. Really though, it can be eaten as breakfast, lunch or dinner, or a very impressive brunch course.

Happy eating!

8 thoughts on “Veggie Egg Bake with Gruyere Cheese

  1. Pingback: It's a fiesta over here - Jodi, fat or not

  2. Hi there, I discovered your site by way of Google at the same time as searching
    for a similar subject, your web site came up, it
    appears great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply was aware of your blog via Google, and located that it is really
    informative. I’m gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll
    be grateful in case you proceed this in future.

    A lot of folks will likely be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

    Feel free to surf to my blog post – CD Key kaufen

  3. Wonderful article! That is the type of info that are
    meant too be shared around the web. Disgrace on the seek engines for no longer positioning this submit higher!
    Coome on over and seek advice from my website . Thanks =)

Leave a Reply

