Zucchini two ways

Hello blog world!

Has it really only been two days since we last talked? It feels like forever. Two days at a new job. Two days of taking the train.

Hello, New York Stock Exchange…which is absolutely NOT where I work.

I can’t even tell you how much of an lifesaver it was to have cooked all day Sunday. I haven’t made it to the gym yet this week, and am still really figuring out my new work/NYC commute schedule, but at least I’m eating well.

I’m going to take a minute to get pretty emotional right now, but every day as I’m commuting into the city I just think about how impossible this would have been for me two years ago at a very out-of-shape 243 pounds.

Walking to the train, running up and down the stairs, navigating the city streets. I could have done it, but I’m not exaggerating when I say it would have been hell.

It’s not often that I really get to see the “fruits of my labor”, so to speak, this clearly. Even things like not having to worry about how much room I’m taking up in my seat on the train is a relief from how I used to feel in every day life. There was a confidence that I had, and still do, going into this whole situation that I don’t think I would have had if I hadn’t gotten healthy.

Ok…time for some food because it’s What I ate Wednesday!

 This week my meals were planned so that I was able to use up all the zucchini about to go bad in my fridge. I ended up with about 4+ cups of grated zucchini and still have some left over!

For breakfast I’ve been eating a slice of the paleo zucchini bread I made on Sunday with 4 oz of plain fat free Greek yogurt and a tablespoon on sun butter. Plus coffee. Lots and lots of coffee.

For the bread, I followed this recipe from Running to the Kitchen.

I like that the bread isn’t too sweet and it finally gave me a chance to buy and use almond flour. The consistency is more spongy than traditional zucchini bread, but the flavors are there. I sliced the loaf up into 12 servings, which comes out to be pretty small squares, but the portion is perfect with the yogurt and sun butter.

My lunch combo this week is 3/4 cup of quinoa, a whole plum tomato and a bunch of raw broccoli mixed with a 2 tablespoons of Tribe 40 spices hummus and two hard-boiled eggs. I also bring an apple that I eat either with lunch or around 11 a.m. and then a serving of baby carrots and .5 oz of almonds for a snack before I get on the train to hold me over for dinner. So far this structure has worked pretty well

.

Also, I have a ridiculously cute lunch bag now! I used to bring my lunch to work in a plastic ShopRite bag but I figured a new job called for a legit lunch tote.

Thanks to Sunday’s planning, my dinner comes together in exactly three minutes.

Ready? I put a couple of handfuls of fresh baby spinach in a bowl and then top it with four of the turkey/zucchini meatballs and a 1/2 cup of Whole Foods’ fat free pasta sauce. The bowl goes in the microwave for three minutes (I promised no frozen microwaved meals..haha) and when it comes out I sprinkle on 2 tablespoons of grated parmesean.

It’s healthy and it gets the food on a plate and in my stomach quickly. Perfection.

I honestly just made up the recipe for the turkey meatballs on the fly, but if you would like to recreate them, here it is:

Turkey Zucchini Meatballs

Serves 6 (2o golf-ball size meatballs)

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds 93/7 ground turkey
  • 1-1/4 cups grated zucchini, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup Italian style breadcrumbs
  • Your favorite spices. I included garlic powder, red pepper flakes, dried parsley and dried basil

Directions:

  • Dump all of the ingredients in a bowl and then get your hands in there and start mixing! Form golf-ball sized meatballs and place on a greased cookie sheet. Bake the meatballs for 20-30 minutes at about 375 degrees.

Could not be easier.

For dessert I’ve been fueling my obsession with cantaloupe. For years I refused to eat it and then all of the sudden this summer I decided to try and I love it! I buy two every week and cut them up into bite size pieces to store in the fridge so it’s ready to go when I get a craving.

Now…The Numbers

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 162.5

This week: 165

Change: +2.5

Total loss:78

A quick note – If you’ve been following along with my weight…yes…I have gained and lost the same 2 pounds now going on 4 weeks in a row. At first I was frustrated, upset, etc., but now I think it makes a lot of sense that as I go through somewhat of a chaotic transition between jobs, my weight is also going through somewhat of a chaotic up and down period. I’m not stressing about it this time. I’ve been doing this long enough that I know once I’m on a stable routine again, my weight will also stabilize. As much as we like to think weight is a science – calories in, calories out, whatever – I know that mine is GREATLY affected by stress, change, lack of sleep – all of which happened in the last week. 

One thought on “Zucchini two ways

Leave a Reply

