Walk. Eat. Sleep.

My fur nephew and I happen to have the same favorite activities: eating, walking and sleeping!

I’m watching Tyler – the part-terrier, part-chihuahua bolt of energy – for the next week while my sister and her family are at the beach.

So far we’ve had a pretty good time.

On Sunday we woke up early and walked a mile before breakfast.

Oatmeal for me…

Oatmeal with pumpkin, chia seeds, egg whites and honey

Puppy chow for him.

Then it was back to sleep for both of us! I’m usually a great sleeper, but the past few nights I’ve been tossing and turning so I definitely needed the extra time to snooze.

We stayed snuggled until my stomach started growling for lunch. I made baked eggs for the first time which involved microwaving some chopped veggies for 2 minutes before cracking two eggs into a baking dish. The whole thing went into a preheated 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes and then was topped with shredded cheddar cheese. It was a great one-dish meal for a quick lunch.

Zucchini, asparagus, tomato and two eggs

The rest of the day was spent shopping with my friend Tracey who is only home for three weeks before heading back to New Orleans for grad school. We went up to the outlets at Woodbury Commons in New York and spent about four hours in retail heaven.

After dropping her back off at home I went to Whole Foods. I was starving and there was an empty fridge at home so I filled a bowl – and my stomach – with my favorite salad bar items before filling up my cart with groceries.

Kale & avocado salad, sesame tofu, carrot salad, fake “beef” and beet salad

Tyler and I went on a two-mile walk as the sun set and now he’s curled up at my feet while I blog. It was a great weekend full of long walks, good friends and delicious food.

Happy Monday everyone and be sure to stop by the blog tomorrow for the reveal of Foodie Penpals!!

 

2 thoughts on “Walk. Eat. Sleep.

Leave a Reply

