Eats on repeat

Life, my friends, is delicious

Hello. And welcome to What I ate Wednesday! On display today are Monday’s meals and snacks.

This week is pretty much last week’s eats…on repeat. I, of course, never get sick of oatmeal, and I’m especially smitten on these blueberry protein-packed oats. Though this week I subbed chia seeds for the flax meal.

To make this giant bowl of oatmeal, combine 1/2 cup of oats, 2 tbsp of chia seeds and 1/2 cup of frozen blueberries with 2 cups of water. The extra cup of water is important because those chia seeds just soak all the liquid right up.

Then cook like you would regular oatmeal, stirring occasionally. When the oats are almost done, add 1/2 cup of liquid egg whites. WHISK for at least two minutes until the oatmeal gets thick like a custard and then turn off the heat completely and cover for five minutes.

When you come back, you will have the most luscious bow of oatmeal. Smooth, creamy, warm and, best of all, blue.

Lunch was the same salad I had last week: Spinach, strawberries, almonds, avocado and chicken sausage. For a snack, I munched on some of the breakfast cookies I made a few weeks ago.

If you follow me on pinterest, you may have noticed my obsession with all things oatmeal raisin. Typical oatmeal raisin cookies have a lot of sugar, so I searched for a healthier option and found this recipe, which of course I modified.

Oatmeal Raisin Breakfast Cookies (Vegan, no flour, egg and dairy free…and delicious!)

  • 1-1/2 cups of oats
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup of raisins
  • 1/4 cup of flax meal (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1 tsp of vanilla and a few shakes of cinnamon

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl. Spoon the “cookie dough” into whatever size cookies you want onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Let the cookies cool on a rack until you want to eat them 🙂

Two of these with a spoonful of almond butter makes for a great and sustaining breakfast or a good mid-day snack.

I’ve been turning up the heat at dinner with lots of fun Indian spices. I took a visit to an Indian grocery store this weekend and picked up some Tikka Masala sauce for Tofu Tikka Masala.

I can’t get enough of tofu recently. Once in a while I’ll have a craving for it and when I do the craving comes on strong! In this bowl is zucchini, asparagus, cauliflower, a plum tomato and 3 oz of extra firm tofu. I sautee the vegetables first with turmeric (which gives it the yellow color) and a teaspoon of grapeseed oil. When the vegetables are almost done I add 2 tbsp of the tikka sauce and the tofu. A few minutes later I have a deliciously spicy dinner.

Since this dinner is pretty low in calories, I’ve been following it up with a green monster smoothie made with a scoop of chocolate protein powder, half a banana and 1 cup of frozen spinach and a few ice cubes. This satisfied my nighttime sweet tooth while getting in an extra serving of fruits and vegetables. And it’s cold, which matters a lot since the temperatures are up around 90 degrees again and I have no air condition.

Now…The Numbers:

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 164.5

This week: 162.5

Change: -2

Total loss: 80.5

8 thoughts on “Eats on repeat

Leave a Reply

