Color me full

This week, I couldn’t bear to show only one day of food.

There were too many colorful meals from which to choose.

Many times where berries stole the show.

July 4 breakfast: Greek yogurt, blueberries, watermelon, strawberries and a few almonds

Even blended, they were determined to be noticed.

Smoothie: blueberries, banana, chocolate protein powder, and avocado

In oatmeal, they popped out and demanded attention.

Protein-packed oatmeal: Oats, blueberries, flaxseed meal and egg whites

Protein-packed oatmeal: Oats, blueberries, flaxseed meal and egg whites

But then the greens marched in.

Vibrant, fresh, crunchy, and refreshing.

Green monster: banana, chocolate protein powder, frozen spinach

I lunched with layers and layers of fresh baby spinach, raw broccoli (my favorite) and avocado piled on top.

Lunch this week: Spinach, broccoli, strawberries, almonds, and (unpictured) avocado and a spinach and feta chicken sausage

A zucchini sliced thin made for a fun twist on a personal pizza over the weekend.

Whole wheat pocketless pita with marinara sauce, zucchini and shredded sharp cheddar.

And when heated, the asparagus shone an even brighter green and were perfect for dipping in bright yellow yolks.

Spicy asparagus and zucchini with two eggs sunny-side up

Spicy sautéed asparagus and zucchini with two eggs sunny-side up

Produce was a priority this week.

Summer only lasts so long.

Bring on the heat if it also means berries, peaches, cherries, summer squash, asparagus and watermelon.

And just in time for the fitness part of this month’s WIAW, I got my first taste of the kettlebell.

My trainer, sensing his limited time left, practically killed me yesterday.

Squats with a kettlebell.

Tricep kickbacks with a kettlebell.

Kettlebell deadlifts.

Lucky for you, my fingers are about the only thing not sore right now.

It was one of my favorite workouts ever. Me and the kettlebell – friends for life.

Now…The Numbers:

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 164.5

This week: 164.5

Change: 0

Total loss: 78.5

24 thoughts on “Color me full

  1. I absolutely LOVE these photos. I agree about summer produce. I’ve stocked my fridge with a wide variety of fruits and veggies!

    Unfortunately, I can’t stand broccoli. It’s one of the very few foods that I don’t like. And I know, I know… so good for me.

    I never thought of dipping asparagus in egg yolks – YUM! Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you! I feel the way about peppers and celery that you do about broccoli – wish I loved them but just can’t bring myself to eat them!

  2. Summer food is the best! Have to get it in while you can.

    How do you cook your asparagus by the way? (Can you tell I’m finally getting to comment on all your blog posts I’ve been reading over the past few weeks?)

  3. Having read this I believed it was really enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  4. Well, here it is: they say that the Samsing Galaxy S2 is
    the best Android smartphone in the market today. Smartphone has absolutely been the leading role
    in current cellphone market place. Via root access you can
    uninstall or disable these apps.

  5. secara nasional, turut hadir, contohnya MNCTV, yang juga disebut TPI di tahun 1991, SCTV dan juga Andalas Televisi
    di 1993, Indosiar di ’95, Media Televisi Indonesia di awal millennium baru , Trans
    7 yang juga. 5 lines spacing to make the release easier to read.

    Despite losing the political battle over the court, Roosevelt won
    the war.

  6. Can I just say what a relief to uncover someone that really knows what they’re talking about over the internet.
    You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people must read this and understand this side
    of your story. It’s surprising you’re not more popular since
    you definitely possess the gift.

    my weblog – healthier weight loss

Leave a Reply

