Fear to freedom

It’s hot.

Like, I’m having trouble thinking because it’s so hot.

So today, I’ll let someone else do the talking.

But first, a story.

From senior year in high school until the summer after I graduated college, I worked as a life guard. I worked in all different kinds of facilities, but mostly at pools in apartment complexes. It was the kind of job where, a lot of the time, my main function was just to talk to people.

One woman used to come every night right before I closed down the pool to swim laps, and then she would stay to talk with me while I folded up all the umbrellas, put away the kick boards and filled the pool with chlorine for the morning.

I remember feeling incredibly lost that summer, unsure of who I was, where I was going and what the future would hold, and a lot of those fears came out during our conversations.

On my last day at that pool, she invited me over for dinner.

I remember two things from that night.

One, we drank Gatorade from wine glasses.

Two, this passage she gave me. In moments of doubt, it continues to serve as my guide:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant,
gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.
Your playing small does not serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking
so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
We are all meant to shine, as children do.
We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.
It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone.
And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously
give other people permission to do the same.
As we are liberated from our own fear,
our presence automatically liberates others.

 – Marianne Williamson

8 thoughts on “Fear to freedom

  1. Great quote! Sometimes it is hard to “think big” isn’t it? I’m trying very hard these days not to limit myself. Who knows what we’re capable of if we try! P.S. It’s hot here in MO, too. Like melt your face off hot. I broke a sweat walking from the parking lot to my office. Geez!

  2. Jodi, thanks for sharing. I’ve heard this quoted often times but never gave it a second thought until today. Fear can be so suffocating at times, that it is hard to breath. Thanks for sharing.

  3. This is one of my favorite quotes of all time. Deep within ourselves we know that we have the power to do something extraordinary, yet it’s often so hard to take those initial steps. But what would this world be without risks? Thanks so much for sharing, Jodi! I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! ❤

Leave a Reply

