All in a day’s eats – WIAW

Hi there!

Let’s talk food 🙂

I have a confession to make, I get stuck on certain foods and just want to eat them over and over and over again.

Oatmeal? Every day.

Zucchini? Three a week.

Bananas? Can’t imagine a world without them.

My penchant for wanting the same foods over and over has solved a few common challenges that people run into when starting to eat healthier – mainly price and time.

There’s a myth that choosing healthy foods costs more money and that cooking (especially for one) takes a lot of time, but this could not be further from the truth.

I change up what I eat from week to week, but within the week I eat the same meal for lunch every day and the same meal for dinner every day. I’m on strict budget with grocery shopping and have a crazy work schedule, but this method of meal planning has been a savior for time, money and my weight. Here’s why:

1. Meal planning saves money. Every Sunday I browse Pinterest and some other recipe sites for meal ideas. I make my shopping list on my iPhone and then go into the supermarket knowing exactly what I need. I always want to try new foods, and if let loose I would buy up the entire fruit and produce section, so having a plan helps me stick to my budget. Before I started cooking I used to waste so much food because it would go bad before I could eat it, but that never happens anymore.

2. Meal planning saves time. With my plan set, I can prep all my lunches and dinners on the weekend so they are grab-and-go ready for during the week. This has helped me break any dependency on frozen meals, convenience foods and it ensures that I’m never tempted to eat out. Sometimes I’ll make one big dish (like soup or chili or a casserole) and portion it out to easily reheat during the week but other times I’ll have a set protein (like a turkey burger, chicken sausages or shrimp) and a few different veggies that I know I can quickly throw together for quick and simple dinners.

Why am I talking about all of this? Because I’ve decided to participate in the blogging phenomenon What I ate Wednesday. Below is every single thing I ate on Tuesday. I get questions all the time about what a typical day of food looks like for me – so here it is!

Breakfast: Stove-top oatmeal (1/2 cup oats; 2 tbsp flax meal; 1 banana; 1-1/2 cups water; tons of cinnamon). A giant cup of coffee with a generous pour of unsweetened almond milk. I also had another coffee with soy milk mid-morning.

Lunch: 2 hard-boiled eggs; a container filled with broccoli, carrots and cucumbers; 1/4 cup hummus (homemade – so much cheaper!); 1 cheese stick; 1/2 oz raw almonds

Snack: 100 g of grapes; 30 g of avocado (Yes, I really do weigh everything. I would cry if my food scale broke)

Dinner: 2 chicken sausages; 1/2 zucchini; 10 asparagus

Dessert: 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt; 1oo g blueberries

It’s also…weigh-in Wednesday…so here we go:

The Numbers:

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 166.5

This week: 167

Change: +.5

Total loss: 76

21 thoughts on “All in a day’s eats – WIAW

  1. Love reading about what you eat–so healthy, it’s inspiring me to eat a little better today! More WIAW please–but can we also make it WIAM and WIAF, as well? You’re amazing! 🙂

  2. I think your strategy is a great idea and I’m going to try it when I move. I’m the same way — I like a lot of variety, like to eat healthy, cook and I would buy up pretty much everything with unlimited funds — and my fear is that I’m going to end up throwing out food because of spoilage. Your way seems to be a great way of economizing time, money, health and taste.

  3. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Also visit my homepage: juicing for better
    skin (Lucio)

  4. I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts
    in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web
    site. Reading this information So i am satisfied to express
    that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out exactly what
    I needed. I such a lot certainly will make sure to don?t put out of your
    mind this web site and provides it a glance regularly.

  5. Greetings I am so glad I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round interesting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do
    keep up the fantastic work.

    My web site … my site

  6. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My site
    has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the
    internet without my authorization. Do you know any solutions to help reduce content
    from being ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    My web page – Companies House (http://nannielahanna4096.wix.Com/)

  7. Definitely imagine that that you stated. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be on the internet the easiest factor to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked even as other people consider issues that they plainly do not recognise about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and outlined out the
    entire thing without having side effect , other people
    could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

    my website … photo booth prank [Kory]

Leave a Reply

