Hike your heart out

The decision wasn’t IF I should go hiking this weekend…it was WHERE should I go hiking!

With the Ramapo Reservation, High Mountain Park Preserve and Harriman State Park all within a 20 minute drive of my apartment – I had some choosing to do.

On Saturday I reconnected with a friend from college to go to High Mountain Park – We set out on a trail and must have had a lot to talk about because we ended up coming out of the woods in another town and had to walk about 1.5 miles to my car on the roads.

The path wasn’t that challenging, but it was really rocky! There was a great view of New York City at one point, too.

On Sunday my plan was to take it a bit easier, because I was still sore from a session with my trainer on Saturday morning but once I got to the Ramapo Reservation it was clear I was going to be there for hours.

Usually I’m a bit hesitant to go hiking by myself because I don’t have the greatest sense of direction, but I’ve been going to the Reservation for years and feel pretty comfortable just getting lost. There are also always tons of friendly people around.

I choose a random path after getting to the upper lake and just explored for about 2 and a half hours!

I followed both hikes with froyo.

All the makings of a great weekend 🙂

Happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “Hike your heart out

  1. Awesome! Beautiful scenery! Hiking is my preferred method of activity and I love it soooo much. If you’re going to regularly navigate rocky terrain, if you don’t have them, trekking poles are a huge help. 🙂

    • I saw someone with them on Sunday and they definitely looked useful. I’m totally that person grabbing onto trees and stuff for balance haha.

      • Oh yeah, then you totally need to get some. They make a big difference going up and down and reduce your load by up to 30%, which is a lot if you ask me!

Leave a Reply

