Out the window

This weekend, the laundry didn’t get done.

Dirty dishes are sitting in the sink.

I didn’t prep all my meals for the week.

I never made it to the gym.

Lunches were thrown together quickly.

Blueberries were eaten straight from the container.

I stayed out way too late, but saw views like this:

This weekend I escaped from the usual stress and responsibilities of daily life.

Right into the clouds.

And up into the mountains of Harriman State Park.

I have the tendency to not want to diverge from my usual path.

Sticking firm to a routine has gotten to where I am now.

Healthier, lighter.

When you set out to lose weight, you have to say “no” to a lot of things.

“No thanks, I’ll just have water.”

“No, I don’t want a piece of cake.”

“No, I’m going to stay in and cook dinner.”

“No, I have to get up early to work out.”

But because of all those “no’s,” I felt confident saying “yes” to everything this weekend.

I don’t worry anymore that I won’t be able to keep up with a night of walking around the city.

I don’t worry anymore that I won’t have the endurance to make it through a long hike in the woods.

I’ve taken on a lot more responsibilities as a result of my desire to get healthy, but it also means that I get to take on life, and it’s given me the confidence that I can handle wherever it goes.

 

” Health is the greatest possession. Contentment is the greatest treasure. Confidence is the greatest friend. Non-being is the greatest joy.”  – Lao Tzu

 

 

4 thoughts on “Out the window

  1. I totally relate to this — all the “no’s” are hard, but sometimes, it’s so glorious to be able to say “yes!” to things that once seemed impossible. Happy for you!

Leave a Reply

