Whirlwind long weekend

Hello friends! How did it get to be Wednesday already??

Let’s catch up. On Saturday, I went to the third wedding for the same couple, but it was still a really special event. The first time they got married by a mayor, the second time was a Hindu ceremony in India, and this weekend was the church wedding!

I wish I could tell you that I had a couple drinks, one plate of food and half of my slice of cake…but perfect eating would make for a boring story, right? 😉

Truth be told, I drank a lot. So much so that I spent all of Sunday nursing a wicked hangover and then my body decided to punish me some more with an awful sore throat that struck me Tuesday. I really felt like I had poisoned my body with how much I drank. I was a pretty heavy drinker in college and for a year or two post-college, and when the urge hits, I still like to pound the gin and tonics hard. Obviously in my hangover-haze I was feeling pretty bad about it, but I rarely indulge in even one drink anymore, so I’m moving on from the whole situation without much guilt.

After the wedding, I was driven back to the bride and groom’s house where I also indulged in lots of leftover food and cake. It was a pretty epic night of calories, to be honest.

However, with the hangover and subsequent sore throat I’ve had almost no appetite since then, which obviously helped hold off a huge weight gain. I also danced a lot at the wedding and have been going on hour-long evening walks in hopes of balancing out all that partying.

After a big, sugary food fest I also like to get in as many fruits and vegetables as possible in the days following, so smoothies it was! I’ve been on a green monster rampage! My go-to recipe for these are 1 banana, 1 cup of frozen strawberries, 1 scoop of protein powder (I love Designer chocolate whey), and as much spinach as I can fit and about a cup of water.

I don’t have air condition in my apartment, so with the weather approaching 90 degrees here, it’s definitely time to sub out oatmeal for smoothies. My magic bullet will be working hard the next few months!

On Memorial Day, I went to my sister’s house for a bbq where I ate a cheeseburger, sans bun, and lots of yummy grilled veggies and fruit. I can’t wait to have a porch one day where I’ll be able to grill. It makes everything taste better. I even ate grilled peppers, which is the one vegetable I really don’t like that much.

Later that day my friend Amanda and I took off in search of paddle boats. Every summer we talk about going to a lake to ride in the boats but we usually get lazy and it never happens. Not this year :). We spent a good hour paddling around a small lake, drifting and catching up on each other’s lives. It was the perfect calm ending to a pretty ridiculous weekend.

But before the main weigh-in event, I have to share this recipe. I love all spicy Asian food but never really found a recipe that lived up to restaurant quality. Until now. This Creamy Thai Sweet Potato and Lentil dish from Pinch of Yum turned out unbelievable. I made a few substitutions (left out the butter and oil and used lite coconut milk instead of regular) and it was still spicy, creamy and all-around amazing. It tastes like it required a lot of work…but besides dicing the potatoes, I was just able to dump the rest of the ingredients in the pot and stir every once in a while. Make this. Now.

Source: pinchofyum.com via Jodi on Pinterest

 

Now…The Numbers:

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 168

This week: 167.5

Change: -.5

Total loss: 75.5

7 thoughts on “Whirlwind long weekend

  1. Minus the hangover it looks like a really good time! You’ve also inspired me to go for a spin on the paddle boats – I haven’t been in forever!

    • Do it! It’s super relaxing and as a bonus, a mildly good work out. I was definitely feeling a slight burn in my legs at the end of the hour.

Leave a Reply

