From Scale to Zen

This needs to be said:

I’ve been an idiot about weight loss.

For the past couple of months, I’ve been exercising 5-7 days a week and not eating enough calories. Although I wasn’t always conscious of it, I’ve been eating based on the number on the scale. If it was high in the morning, I ate less that day, if it was low, I would allow myself more food.

You know where this leads?

Absolutely no where.

I’m done with daily weighing. For the first six-ish months of my weight loss journey, I was a firm believer in the once a week weigh-ins. NO EXCEPTIONS.

Somewhere along the way, it became twice a week and then overtime developed into a full blown obsession with the scale.

But I’m breaking free of that. It doesn’t work. It puts the focus on a number when I absolutely know better that that’s not where my focus should be.

This week, I exercised WAY less and ate consistently more. And…well you can see the results below.

I’ve been obsessed with reading the blog Zen Habits for the past week or two, and it’s really helped me put my head in the right place.

If you’re not aware of Zen Habits, do yourself a favor and check it out. The blog is written by Leo Babauta, who has a bazillion kids, lives in California and changed his life one habit at a time. Among his accomplishments are a 70-pound weight loss, becoming a runner and transforming his passion into a business. He’s written a book or two and is pretty much my life idol.

His blog is my absolutely my go-to reading source for positive inspiration.

Ok, enough gushing. Shall we talk injury?

I went to the orthopedist yesterday, and he told me exactly what everyone else has been telling me: REST.

Except this time, I’m listening.

The good news is that my x-rays showed healthy bones. The bad news is that for a minimum of two weeks, I can not run, walk, elliptical, bike, climb an excessive amount of stairs, or do lunges or squats.

Am I bummed? YES. Cardio for me is a sure source of endorphins, a no-fail happiness booster and what I scheduled my day around. I planned my cardio activities at night, and looked forward to getting sweaty when I woke up in the morning.

I’m trying not to get too down about it, but I’d be lying if I said the frustration over being injured wasn’t getting to me. I tried to be smart about running. I stretched, I wore compression sleeves, I got fitted for sneakers, I iced, I didn’t run two days in a row, I cross trained…and I still got hurt. I feel like I failed in some way, but I know most runners get injured at one time or another.

My plan for the next two weeks is to work on core and upper body strength, two areas where I am SEVERELY lacking, and, if my shins feel better, attempt a SHORT run with lots of walk breaks.

The doc said as soon as I feel pain I should stop running, and if I immediately feel pain when I begin running again, then he would think about doing an MRI on my shins. He also suggested that I get orthodics made because I have flat feet. But those cost a lot of money, so we’ll see.

I know two weeks doesn’t sound like a lot of time, but running has changed my life in so many unbelievable ways that I could have never expected. It’s been a huge confidence booster. By running, I’ve proven to myself that I can be someone who follows through and accomplishes their goals and doesn’t quit. I guess I’ve always thought of myself as someone who wasn’t motivated, but running has changed that.

I know taking this time to rest will eventually allow me to return to running, but I’m having a really over-dramatic sense of loss right now.

Oh man, this post is all sorts of rambly and has a severe lack of pictures.

It’s time….The numbers:

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 172

This week: 170

Change: -2

Total loss: 73

 

9 thoughts on “From Scale to Zen

  1. (1) I know how frustrated you must feel! I haven’t run in… 3 weeks to the day. It’s tough, but the way I think about it, running has become something that I really love, and I cherish my time on the road. If I were to run through injury and potentially sacrifice a lifetime of happy running, I would be DEVASTATED. A few weeks off is a small price to pay for future happiness.
    (2) Leo follows me on fitocracy! I had no idea that he was famous and whatnot. He seems cool.
    (3) Swiiiiim?!

    • What is fitocracy?? Should I be on there?

      I’m going to the local YMCA today to check out pool prices..and see if I can get a few weeks free or something to make sure I’ll actually go..I LOVE swimming, but the price of joining a Y has always stopped me

      • Fitocracy is a fitness RPG – you log your workouts to “level up” & there are “quests” to go on (combinations of different exercises in one workout or one week) that earn you extra points. It’s silly, but fun! I think it’s technically still in the beta phase, so if you want to test it out, let me know and I can find you an invite. 🙂

  2. can’t wait to check out that blog….and nothing says “Happy Early Birthday” like orthotics….just saying 😉

  3. We all need to find what works for us. When I started weighing myself daily, it took the power away from the number. I am able to see that I will fluctuate and that it is okay. The downward trend (on a graph) is more important. When I weighed myself weekly, I would put more pressure on that number. And if it wasn’t what I liked seeing, I’d have to wait a whole week to see improved results!

    But obviously, that doesn’t work for everyone. In your case, the daily weigh-in was putting pressure on you to meet a goal each day. I am glad you are re-adjusting your habits to help *you* ensure success! Cheers to that!

    • I totally agree! I think I needed to weigh every day for a while, but it stopped serving its purpose. This journey is different for everyone, and everyone has to find their way individually 🙂

  4. Hi Jodi, I’m a new reader, but am grappling with the scale myself (well, what the scale SAYS and too-much weighing), so was interested in this.

    Hope your recovery goes well!

    Deb

Leave a Reply

