Me? Stubborn?

Yesterday I ran a 5K race against the advice of everyone that I knew.

Yet it didn’t surprise anyone that I was going to push through the shin pain I’ve been having to run.

“You’re stubborn,” my trainer said very matter-of-fact like in his thick Peruvian accent.

No one. ever. has described be as stubborn…..in regard to WANTING to run.

Sure, I was stubborn in high school when I refused to even TRY to run the required mile in gym class.

My, things have changed.

So let’s talk about this shin pain then.

It’s not shin splints. The pain has become very localized. I can point to an exact spot where the pain is coming from and my lower leg has been throbbing on and off for days, even through prior to the race I cut down my activity to ZERO. Oddly enough, the pain goes away after I run for a few minutes, and I was able to make it through the race without thinking about my shins.

My trainer poked around my leg a bit on Saturday and there was definitely one very tender spot. It also hurts more than normal when I foam roll over my left calf.

So in an effort not to be completely stupid, I’m taking a break from running. And seeing a doctor to (hopefully) rule out a stress fracture.

I’m trying not to be too upset…but it’s hard because I was really starting to LOVE running. The feeling of pushing myself past my limits, following a training plan and the rush of endorphins that lasted for hours.

My rational self knows that right now rest is the best thing for my body. So rest I will.

In other news, I will have a race recap…but it’s going to have to wait, because I’m actually writing about the race for my job. I can’t wait to share it!

I'm probably asking a very important question in this photo.

Credit to Bill Smithuysen for capturing the awkward moment where I’m interviewing the president of the Waldwick Chamber of Commerce.

Hope everyone else is having an injury-free Monday!

 

 

11 thoughts on “Me? Stubborn?

  1. Congrats on this weekend’s race! I’m glad you’re taking a break for a bit – I hope you can figure out what is causing the pain. And then go kick some more running butt 🙂

  2. I hope it’s not something serious. Taking a break is probably good.

    Every once in awhile I get weird calf pain and I do some yoga stretches, foam roll and it clears up.

    • I hope so too..that’s why I really want to rule out a stress fracture. I’ve been trying to do more foam rolling, but I only have access to one at my gym so I think it’s time to purchase my own.

  3. Pingback: Blog Meets World | Jodi, fat or not

  4. Pingback: All the small things | Jodi, fat or not

  5. Pingback: Body movin’, body movin’ | Jodi, fat or not

  6. Pingback: Runner's World 5K Recap - Jodi, fat or not

Leave a Reply

