Weighty matters

In an effort not to be frustrated by my lack of weight loss progress (I’m going on 7 months, SEVEN MONTHS, in the 170’s…ACK), I give you a list of non-scale victories:

1. When I wear a hairband around my wrist, it doesn’t cut off circulation to my hand.

2. I can walk up stairs without getting out of breath.

3. I can walk pretty much anywhere without getting out of breath.

4. I can see my collarbones <—without a doubt, my favorite NSV.

5. My feet fit much better into flats and heels.

Now…what the heck is going on with my weight? I’m not really sure. I’ve been going up and down the same pound for weeks and weeks and weeks, meanwhile exercising more than ever and consistently counting calories. That being said, I’ve again fallen into a pattern of higher calorie days and lower calorie days, which absolutely needs to stop. Consistency, consistency, consistency.

Plateaus happen, I get it, but just this once I need to vent. This stall has been tough to deal with when the first 50 pounds came off, to be honest, pretty easily. I understand that as I continue losing more weight, it will be harder to do. My BMR is much lower than it was  and I burn way less calories exercising compared to 243 pounds.

However, this blog is called Jodi, Fat or Not for a reason. I’m going to continue to focus on the journey, not the results, eat fresh whole foods and exercise because these things make me happy. My weight might not be going down, but I continue to reap the benefits of living a healthy lifestyle. I just happen to be a bit bitter about it right now, haha.

Also, if you’ve ever tried to lose weight, read this post by Andie, who writes the blog, “Can You Stay for Dinner?” It’s amazing.

Here we go….The numbers:

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 171.5

This week: 172

Change: +.5

Total loss: 71

11 thoughts on “Weighty matters

  1. These NSV are those that can help keep you motivated and also those that you can look back on years from now! Congratulations on these accomplishments. I’d encourage you to really look at your calorie levels because I find that about 90 percent of the time that is what is hindering our ability to lose weight during an extended plateau! You can do this!

  2. Hi!

    I just stumbled upon your blog this morning and I’m glad I did! I started my weightloss journey about 2 years ago and have lost 150ish lbs and I thought it was cool some of the similarities that we have; like: 1) I also went on a tour to Israel recently (loved it!) and 2) I’m not too far away from what you currently weigh and have found myself struggling to get these last lbs off as well.

    I’m looking forward to following your journey and watch you succeed!

  3. Hi Jodi. Just stumbled on your blog. CONGRATULATIONS on your inspirational success to date. I look forward to reading more and following you on your journey to goal. Have a great weekend.

  4. I love and admire your attitude about the weight loss process. In the end, HEALTH, not weight is what’s truly important. The progress you’ve made—and I especially mean those non-scale victories— is truly inspiring!

    As far as the actual weight plateau goes: maybe try incorporating more strength training into workouts? I find I have to eat a LOT more when I’m lifting weights because it gives my metabolism a huge boost. 🙂 You CAN and WILL do it! xo

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement! I’ve been doing some upper body strength workouts a few times a week and I definitely notice my metabolism speeding up on those days…it was such a different feeling of hunger than normal, I had no idea what it was at first!

Leave a Reply

