System shake-up

Hi!

After many conversations and much reading, I’ve decided to shake up my diet and go primal.

Sort of.

By principal (and from a life-long hatred of diets) I don’t restrict what I eat, but the truth is, I’m in a major food rut. 

I think I’ve eaten a bowl of oatmeal and a banana for breakfast every day for the past 6-7 months.

Even lunches were getting stale with salads, veggie burgers and yogurt day in and day out.

Time for change!

If you’re not sure what paleo/primal/caveman eating is – check out these sites:

Mark’s Daily Apple

Robb Wolf – The Paleo Solution

Here’s the food basics as I’m adopting them:

Lots of non-starchy veggies, lots of meat and eggs. Some fruits and nuts. Limited dairy.

No (or almost none of ) grains, wheat, beans and sugar.

I also realize that a core function of paleo is to eat organic, but I’m going to be making some trade-offs to keep my grocery budget down.

I’m not striving for perfection, but I will hold myself to being consistent.

To be honest, I’m not really sure what to expect weight-loss wise because I’ll still be counting calories and aiming to eat the same amount of calories.

Also, many people have said they feel more energetic and sleep better after switching to paleo eating, not to brag, but I don’t typically get tired during the day and sleep pretty well at night.

I’m excited to see how my body reacts to the increased protein and fat and already I’m being more creative in the kitchen.

Here’s what Day 1 (yesterday) of eats looked like:

Breakfast: 

Two eggs sunny side up with a sliced plum tomato and deli ham (I don’t like ham, so not really sure what this was about…it wasn’t good haha). Coffee with almond milk.

Lunch:

Half a bag of mixed salad greens with a sliced carrot, 4 oz of rotisserie chicken and 50 grams of avocado topped with 1 oz of Cindy’s Kitchen carrot and ginger dressing. Can you tell I use a food scale to measure everything?? 🙂

Snack: 

1 oz raw almonds, 3 medjool dates.

Dinner:

6 oz of salmon paired with about a cup of collard greens and half a yellow squash, satueed in 1 tsp of olive oil.

Dessert: 

4 oz Chobani plain fat free Greek yogurt with half a banana

First impressions:

I was a little overwhelmed the first day when I came back from the farmers’ market with bags and bags of produce and meat and eggs. I can’t even remember the last time I bought meat or eggs. I also suddenly wanted to eat loads of chocolate and cheese and blamed the craving as an emotional response to change and mild restriction.

After a small panic, I remembered that I’m actually a pretty good cook and creative and just began throwing ingredients together! Change is good and challenge is good.

It feels a little weird to be eating this much protein (and specifically animal-based protein) with every meal, but I’m sure my body will adjust. I also can’t wait to see how my body reacts to a drastic decrease in sugar intake.

My goal is to go week by week with paleo eating. I’d like to say that I’ll do it for at least a month, but that sounds long and scary to me haha.

I’m all about creating small changes and that’s exactly how I plan to approach paleo eating. I’m going at it with no expectations but I’ll continue to update you with what I’m learning!

– Jodi

 

5 thoughts on “System shake-up

  1. Thanks for the inspiration to try someting new to kick up my weight loss! I loved reading about how to “Eat Like a Dinosaur”…never heard of it before.

  2. Pingback: Wednesday Weigh-in | Jodi, fat or not

  3. Pingback: Broccoli Cheddar Quinoa Casserole with Cauliflower Crumb Topping | Jodi, fat or not

  4. I have attempted for that http://starshipexcelsior.
    com/wiki/index.php?title=User:GeorgettaS”>healthy ways to lose weight fast hoping that the ambiance, ease and in addition the availability in the amenities at the moment getting opened from five:00a.m till eventually ten:00pm would inspire me to stay on course, attend a whole lot with the cardio courses, aquatics programs, stage courses etc…

  5. Greate article. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You have done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I’m confident
    they will be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

