Hearty Green Lentil Soup

Two things I learned in the process of coming up with this dish:

1. Soup is ridiculously easy to make and takes barely any effort. I should make it more often.

2. Lentils are delicious when not cooked into mushy oblivion.

I never really liked lentils and now I clearly know why. I had no idea lentils could be anything other than a mushy grainy texture. These came out soft and chewy, and picked up all the flavors from the broth and vegetables.


While I made this soup on the weekend to take for lunch with me throughout the week, this could easily be made anytime. It only takes about 15 minutes of active prep and then you just let the soup do its thing, simmering away on the stove top.

Hearty Green Lentil Soup

serves 3-4

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dried green lentils
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 1/2 an onion, chopped
  • 5 oz sliced baby portobello mushrooms
  • A pinch of each ground black pepper, dried oregano and dried parsley. You could add salt, but I think the vegetable broth adds enough on its own.

Directions

  • In a large pot, saute the onions and carrots in the olive oil until the onions are translucent.
  • Add the rest of the ingredients. Let simmer for about an hour, stirring occasionally, until the lentils are soft but not mushy. There should be some liquid left in the pot when you are done.
3 thoughts on “Hearty Green Lentil Soup

  1. Hey Jodi- I found your blog through Gretchen’s. I love your story! Congrats on your progress so far!!
    I made lentil soup yesterday, which was okay… I need to tweak the recipe a bit. I’m hoping that like most other soups, it tastes better after a day or two. 🙂

Leave a Reply

