Wednesday Weigh-in

Happy hump day!

It’s truly been a great week! I really focused on consistency and I think it paid off. Toward the end of 2011, I was getting into a bad pattern where I would have higher calorie days then try to “make up” for them with lower calorie days.

Totally blaming the holidays on that one.

But  it put me in a really bad routine where I was always either overeating or undereating and resulted in weeks of no weight loss. Not good. When 2012 rolled around I resolved to change that, and am happy to report I’ve been much more consistent, hovering just around my daily calorie goal. Woohoo! It feels so much healthier.

This week just felt good all around. I cooked a lot, which probably contributes to how I’m feeling right now. Cooking really makes me feel alive, especially when I’m using lots of veggies and fun spices. I also made it to the gym every day but Sunday and Monday. Sunday I needed a rest day, Monday I was lazy. Meh.

I’m really trying to embrace the truth that losing weight is 90 percent about what I’m eating and 10 percent everything else, including exercising. It’s really important that I don’t over compensate for my trips to the gym with food.

Next week I want to work on the same thing – consistency – but also keeping an eye on my salt intake…I’ve been a bit heavy handed with the shaker!

I thought a fun thing to do would be to look back at MyFitnessPal and see some of the foods I ate the most of this week. I honestly pretty much eat the same foods every week, but sometimes I vary it up a bit. I at least try to do different things with my groceries, even if  it is the same ingredients.

So this week (Wednesday to Wednesday) every day started with either oatmeal with a banana mixed in or banana oat pancakes.

Lunch was really varied. I’ve been taking the vegan broccoli quinoa I made over the weekend to work for lunch, but things like Greek yogurt, homemade hummus on a sandwich thin and salads have also made an appearance.

Dinners were all over the place as well. I had an egg white omelet with collared greens (my new obsession) one night, a Mexican inspired meal with veggies and black beans and a beet and goat cheese salad.

How did it all work out for me?

The numbers:

Starting weight: 243

Last week: 180.5

This week: 178.5

Change: -2

Total loss: 64.5

In other news, you may have noticed I changed my blog theme AND decided on a name.

Jodi, fat or not

I think it speaks to a lot of what this blog is about. Yes, it’s a weight loss blog, but this is who I am. These are my lifestyle changes that I’ve made, fat or not. When I started the blog, a little over a month ago, I didn’t really think a lot about the name, but I’m happy to be settled with one I love. I hope you like it too!

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weigh-in

  1. Good for you for getting to that consistency – I have been doing the high/low thing for just over a week now and it is totally messing with me. I actually decided to try to track my food yesterday – has not worked for me in the past but I am going to try! I have heard great things about that site. I am going to try an actual notebook first 🙂

    WTG on being 2 lbs down!

    • Thanks! The high/low thing is really hard to break out of…vicious cycle. Hopefully tracking helps – I’m a huge believer in the power of writing things down. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

