Put happy first

Happy Monday!

It just dawned on me that I’ll be working a full week for the first time in a month. Time to expand my coffee budget.

It’s easy to forget that happiness, like weight loss, takes work. And like weight loss, happiness itself is not a goal, but there are goals I can set that will make happiness a more likely reality.

Before I really started examining my life, I thought things like partying, eating crappy foods and watching hours and hours of TV made me happy.

I was wrong.

For me, it’s about the little everyday things, like making my bed and having a clean kitchen, that truly contribute to my happiness.

Source: Uploaded by user via Hannah on Pinterest

Weight loss has happened because I actively work at being happy. Not the other way around. And, sorry folks, it never will be the other way around.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that things like cooking myself healthy meals and working out everyday mattered more in the way of feeling fulfilled personally.

Source: a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net via Seema on Pinterest

The truth is, I would continue these habits regardless of whether I ever lost another pound. It’s this mindset that gets me through the frustrating plateaus and weight loss stalls.

Because for me, getting to a place of happy has always been more important than getting to a certain number on the scale.

 

One thought on “Put happy first

Leave a Reply

