My very strict no-rules un-diet

Let’s talk eats, shall we?

First and foremost, I track what I eat. I really don’t think you can effect change if you don’t know what you’re working with.

Second. If I’m hungry, I eat. no starving allowed!

Annnddd those are pretty much my only rules.

My diet consists of whatever I want it to consist of. Most of the time I eat fruits, vegetables, whole grains, salads, beans, nuts, yogurt, and full-fat cheese. Some of the time I eat everything else. All of the time I record it.

Simple, huh?

My meals, while parts of them feature a lot of variety, don’t really change much week to week.

In the summer I was making lots of smoothies for breakfast. They typically consist of a banana, some sort of frozen fruit, 4 oz – 8 oz of unsweetened almond milk, as much spinach as could fit in my magic bullet and either some protein powder or chia seeds or peanut butter. Now that it’s colder out I’ve been eating oatmeal or making oat pancakes.

Lunch is usually the same. Salad topped with whatever I’m in the mood for that week. Lately I’ve been making them with beets and goat cheese and hummus, but I tend to get creative! My favorite toppings are almonds, broccoli, veggie burgers, beans, or even left over dinner from the night before. Anything you can put between bread or on a plate will usually work on a bed of lettuce. I also make my own dressing with a mixture of oil + vinegar, lemon juice, salt + pepper and mustard whisked together.

Dinners are quick and easy. Veggies, protein (sometimes vegetarian, sometimes not) and usually something starchy like a potato or quinoa. Nothing fancy here!

I also usually crave something sweet after dinner and fulfill that with either some sort of fruit/cocoa powder combo to get a chocolate fix! I try to limit bread and sugar for no other reason than I find it doesn’t sustain me as well as other food. I also happen to really enjoy fruits and vegetables. Really. So it doesn’t feel like any sort of sacrifice eating fruit for desert, or having veggies as a snack.

This is what works for me. Over the last year, I’ve transitioned from eating a lot of processed foods (ie. lean cuisines) to cooking 99% of the food I eat. It’s helped me save money and made me healthier!

I wanted to give a quick overview of how I’ve lost the weight so far, but I promise…more detailed posts about all of these topics are coming soon!

One thought on “My very strict no-rules un-diet

Leave a Reply

